Draft Wednesday Walk A walk in the Knowles Reserve

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

A walk in the Knowles Reserve

This post if for Wednesday walk challenge And Make me Smile Collaboration challenge, initially our collaboration was once a month but due to the popularity of it we have decided to make the collab a weekly thing :)

Any questions about the challenge read the guide at the Bottom of the post ;)

For this weeks post I am sharing a walk I took through another of the DNRT ( Dartmouth Natural resources Trust), reserves this time one called the Knowles Reserve, a beautiful trail and a walk I truly enjoyed.

Parts of the trail are marshy or if not Marshy damp and they have boardwalk/raised walkways over those spots such as this one I share in the first photo


ww Knowles reserve-1.jpg

Sony A7iv 25mm F8 1/60 ISO 320
Click here to view larger



More of the walkways, it was overcast and fairly early in the morning, the light was coming and going as I walked the trail as clouds past by


ww Knowles reserve-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 24mm F8 1/60 second ISO 250
Click here to view larger



This was another trail that had a few rock walls here and there, which I love seeing


ww Knowles reserve-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 29mm F8 1/60 second ISO 400
Click here to view larger



and it had quite a few trails, I only explored a portion of the trails some had wide paths, some narrower.

It is well marked has trail markers on the trees, in this shot you can see markers on a tree on the left for the red and blue trails


ww Knowles reserve-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 24mm F8 1/60 second ISO 200
Click here to view larger


being spring after after some rain the night before the greens were outstanding, in fact in some of these shots I actually desaturated the greens a little


ww Knowles reserve-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 24mm F8 1/60 second ISO 200
Click here to view larger


At various spots they also had markings showing the direction to either of the car parks and entrances to the trails, I came in at the Potomska Road Parking so was a mile from the exit at this stage


ww Knowles reserve-6.jpg

Sony A7iv 115mm F8 1/60 second ISO 500
Click here to view larger


More of the beautiful greens further along the trail


ww Knowles reserve-7.jpg

Sony A7iv 30mm F8 1/60 second ISO 500
Click here to view larger


seeing all the ferns on the walk made me feel I was walking a trail back in New Zealand, which has so many ferns


ww Knowles reserve-8.jpg

Sony A7iv 47mm F8 1/60 second ISO 500
Click here to view larger


Weekly giveaway of shares

This week I am sending to the following who joined Wednesday Walk, for this week I did a random draw and the following each received some Hive @decentropia, @grindle, @dreemsteem, @suzana72, and @galca

And @elizacheng will send to @mipiano


As @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges

And one person is randomly drawn who joins both challenges to receive one Hive from me and this week it is @TBA

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

Add a bit of a write up about where you walked

Just one Wednesday Walk tagged post a week

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all, especially if its not one of the first 5 tags or I may miss seeing it .

Following me and re-Hiving the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk.

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the [Make Me Smile] hosted by @elizacheng,

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

Teamusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!pinmapple 41.582403 lat -70.952522 long Knowles reserve Dartmouth MA d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@tattoodjay) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Super green #wednesdaywalk 🌿 Always nice to find some well maintained trails in pretty green space 🙂 The ferns are that new growth bright green color which I really like.

Thanks and yes I am enjoying this time of year to take a break from doing all sunrise beach walks and going out a bit later some days and exploring the trails and reserves here, there are so many of them

Those are some lovely photos.

Thanks so much have a great day

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 109 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

It was an awesome and oh, nature, so lovely. The images are so amazing with a perfect brightness.

Thanks, I am loving exploring all the trails and reserves they have here

This landscape looks untouched, like a deep taiga - as long as there are no paths or signs in the frame! It's a great walk.

Off the trails it sure looks that way and you make a good point, for future walks I should try and get more shots looking off into the forest and perhaps less of the trails themselves

Wow…. What a trail 😎
Stunning the boardwalk and all the greens. I so enjoyed looking at the first photograph. Wow 🤩
Thanks for sharing @tattoodjay

My walk: “Dean Village” ~ Walk through a beautiful “hidden” village in Edinburgh Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Have a great Wednesday 👋🏻☀️

Thanks and I just visited your walk, WOW I loved it

You are so welcome @tattoodjay 😁
Thank you too 😊 one of my favourite trips in years…

and from your post I can see why :)

😉😎 thanks!

So much greens with your walk. I admire living nearby all the greens. Here we are practically surrounded by concrete jungle. I know I must retire at somewhere full of greens in the future. :)

Here is my walk while I am back at my hometown, another smaller city.

https://hive.blog/hive-155530/@iamjadeline/sibu-heritage-center-sarawak-malaysia

After working in NYC for so long I can relate to the concrete jungle and thats perhaps why I am loving exploring the trails here

thanks for sharing your link

That is really cool! It looks like a beautiful area. Are the walkways as narrow as they look? It doesn't look like you could even fit two people side by side on those. Watch out for ticks, I have heard they are really bad this year. We haven't been camping yet to see for ourselves.

It is a beautiful area, some of the trails are indeed very narrow, not wide enough for two people, but most of the trails are wide enought o pass someone coming the other way, not that I have seen anyone else on the trails yet

I thought about ticks this morning, when I was at the pharmacy and got some off spray to put on before my next walks

Great, I am glad that you are taking precautions!

Hello dear friend @tattoodjay good day
I don't think there is a better place than a nature reserve to take a walk and enjoy the surroundings
I really like the elevated walkways, the good state of conservation of the reserve and the signage on the trees
I appreciate very much that you let us know these beautiful photographs
Have a beautiful day

thanks I am enjoying doing these nature walks, and yes they group that runs them does such an amazing job of keeping them in such good condition including the raised walk ways.

I do enjoy my early morning sunrise beach walks, but these are a nice change

Beautiful walk ways… amazing photos .. 👍🏿

Thanks so much

Have a good day

You have an extraordinary talent for being a photographer.

thanks so kind of you to say

oh my gosh - those pictures!!!! seriously!!!!

that first one - you caught it at the perfect timing - the angle - and the way the light is reflecting off of the water below??? its just like golden light bathing everything!!! looks like something from an enchanted forest! hehehehe just beautiful!!

I actually have a post today! hehehe - now... will I actually get it written?? LOL i hope so!!!!!! heheheh

thanks so much ohh yes that first shot I loved when I saw it I saw the shot and hoped I had captured it ok, and luckily I had :)

enchanted forest thats exactly what I thought when I was editing that photo, is Twinsie reading my mind LOL

oh - and thank you for that bonus hive!!!! hehehehe that was such a nice surprise for me!

Most welcome, I like to give a little bit back to some who join the walk each week :)

As always beautiful pictures, natural greenery means lots of wonderful fresh oxygen. Just what our bodies yearn for and thrives on. Vice versa the plants love the carbon dioxide we produce because photosynthesis relies on using the sun's energy to synthesize sugar out of carbon dioxide and water. Plants and ecosystems use the sugar both as an energy source and as the basic building block for growth. So keep taking walks in nature, it's doing so much good to your body than you could ever imagine. Thank you for sharing and enjoy Thursday ahead :}

with my wifes sleeping pattern changed and not getting up till later than she used to it gives me a c]good chance to take walks at time other than sunrise at the moment and have been making good use of it walking in some of the many reserves and trails here and am loving it

what you say is all so true

That's life, but as long as you take time to interact with nature then everything else will be just fine. That exchange of oxygen/carbon dioxide is vital and the vitamin D from the sun is a must for a great immune system. Thanks for sharing and happy Thursdsay :}

This is sort of land from a fairy tale, all that green and that wooden walkway!!
Really lovely!!

It did have an enchanted forest feel to it that morning

Enchanted forest, that's a nice description indeed 😇

Enjoy the rest of the week and have a good weekend

Thanks, have a good one you too 😎👋

The greens have it! Loving the ferny floor of the area. One of the things I love about the double canopied forest. The bogs there are legendary and the stone walls dividing up parcels just add to the charm.

Doesn't Mother Nature know we have to desaturate her colors!?

I am a huge fan of the preserve there, money can surely make a huge difference when you are talking about maintenance! I like places that actually put their donations/tax money to good use! It is important for me to see that so it feels good to give, not have to wonder how it will be used.

I also know that you cannot know where it all goes, but, it is nice to see it working.

It is really nice to see you out there in all that beauty! I always call a tick check! after I tromp through the woods/forest!

You put forth a spectacular #WedensdayWalk! Thank you so much!

you know I love the greens as much as I love the morning blues, mothers nature color choices beat any artist around I truly believe, I think Mother nature does the colors just right, perhaps our cameras need to lean how to capture it better LOL

THE DNRT that maintains this and other trails, was initially started by a group of local residents, as I understand it they have some sponsorship now but still a lot of the work done maintaining these trails is by volunteers, which is refreshing to know in these crazy days and whenever i see a donation box at one of the trails I do support it knowing it is going to good use

I do check for ticks after my walks and now have Off deep woods spray that I will spray on liberally before each trail walk

I love the board walkway. So neat.
Looks like a great walk in the midst green nature.

I loved the board walk parts as well and it was a truly refreshing walk

Hi @tattoodjay , that was an oxygenating walk, being in contact with nature fills us with energy. Greetings!

thanks for your visit and ohh yes after a walk like this early in the day I feel all refreshed for a good day ahead

I especially love your first photo! It really gives me the feeling of being there myself. Looking at that photo I can actually smell the dampness and the wood...

Spring is clearly visible in your photos and it looks beautiful. We are heading into winter here on our side now...

Thanks for your visit and such a kind comment
Almost Summer here now, even though I am from Down Under and have travelled a lot I always find it interesting how our weather cycles are the opposite

You're welcome, I really enjoyed your photos...as I always do!

You must enjoy your summer over there... I haven't traveled all that extensively. Mostly here in South Africa and also in Namibia, as that is where my father grew up. He was born in Angola in 1919 on the "Dorsland Trek", and they settled in Namibia when he was a 9-year-old boy. He came down to South Africa as a young man. So many of my family were still in Namibia.

I personally then also got called up as a young man to do duty in the bush war on the borders of Namibia (then still Southwest Africa) and Angola. But that was the last time I've been up there...in 1983. Most of my family also moved down to South Africa and are now settled in Capetown and surrounding areas.

Wow...what I'm trying to say is that I haven't experienced the change in weather cycles as you have...lol. It must be fascinating...

I have bene fortunate through my career to travel a lot, I have been to over 60 Countries, some good some bad, it has been amazing experience

60 Countries! Wow, that's a lot of traveling! I can believe it when you say it has been an amazing experience.

Ah, greenery!!!!
Great shots, @tattoodjay !

I have bene enjoying checking out some of the trails here, I never knew there was so many of them so close by :)

Have a great day

The bridges and paths make me remember Temple Run (a game)🤭😄
Nice pictures!

Ohh yeah I used to play that game and now I can see why it makes you think of it


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.