Wednesday Walk I never promised you a rose garden

in Wednesday Walk4 years ago

Wednesday Walk I never promised you a rose garden

This post if for Wednesday walk challenge And Make me Smile Collaboration challenge, initially our collaboration was once a month but due to the popularity of it we have decided to make the collab a weekly thing :)

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

Add a bit of a write up about where you walked

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all, especially if its not one of the first 5 tags or I may miss seeing it .

Following me and re-Hiving the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending some Hive to a selection of those who participate.

Actifit

A good App that works well in conjunction with the Wednesday Walk or any day walk is @actifit, which rewards you with Actifit Tokens and Upvotes, if you use the app to track your steps and do a post of your actifit total each day.

If you do a lot of activity I do recommend you check it out

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the [Make Me Smile] hosted by @elizacheng,

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

For this weeks post I am going back a year ago to the 15th of April and a walk I did in the UN gardens between meetings, and my title for this post says I never promised you a rose garden
which I will admit comes from the song in the 70s Rose garden by Lynn Anderson, but as it happens I will actually show you a Rose garden with this first shot, looking over the rose gardens with he 59th Street Bridge in the background

1 1 WW UN gradens.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F7.1 1/500 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



It was a bit grey when I was editing these photos for this post, so I may have over done a bit making this shot bright and warm, a coupleof the trees in the gardens full with blossoms

1 1 WW UN gradens2.jpg
Sony A7iii 24mm F6.3 1/50 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and there is plenty of trees in this garden, looking down one of the walkways lined with trees
1 1 WW UN gradens3.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F6.3 1/500 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and at the other end of the row of trees looking back

1 1 WW UN gradens4.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F6.3 1/800 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Weekly giveaway of shares


I am sending Hive to a few people selected through a random draw so on the weekend all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk. this week I am sending 2 Hive to @ellenripley, @johannpiber, @ninahaskin, @syedumair, @myjob, @suzana72, @qwerrie, @fotostef
And @elizacheng will send to @riverflows


As @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges

And one person is randomly drawn who joins both challenges to receive one Hive from me and this week it is @TBA

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!pinmapple 40.748774 lat -73.967344 long United Nations HQ NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Your second shot with the trees, and the 59th street bridge behind, has a really lovely feel about it. Leaning slightly towards pointillism. 😍

Thanks Pointiliiism was a term I did not know till this comment os I learnt something new today :)

Your comment made me smile. Pointillism always reminds me of printing, funnily - DPI in artistic form. Learning something new is always a good thing - happy to have assisted. 🙏

I had an Uncle who was like a grandfather to me, and I remember him telling me that any day you don't learn something new is a wasted day and that has always stuck with me

You were lucky to have such a wise uncle. ❤️

Indeed i was he was very special to me as a youngster I still think of him often even today

❤️❤️❤️ somewhere his Spirit Being knows that... I believe.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Always 👍🙂🙂👍😉, cheers liz

Beautiful throwback walk... Beautiful weather too... It's been rainy lately here in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia...

Thanks I hope you get some nice dry days. today we to have a rainy day

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 3 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Spring is beautiful when all the trees are so beautiful colorful, and if you say you have overdone these photos I reply that's why photography is an art - I love such avenues with blooming trees on each side 😉

!tip
!invest_vote

yes indeed that is the song ;)
and its funny how ones mood can affect how one chooses to edit a photo

Have a great dya

When I read the title it came to my mind. I'm glad that the video works, because it seemed to me that Youtube was blocking them on Steemit 🙂

I have had a lazy afternoon as said and wish you a nice rest of the day too 🙂

Ohh yeah I remember that song when it came out I must have been 10 at the time but for some reason I liked it I guess

glad you have had a lazy afternoon, has been a pretty quiet and easy day for me as well

And now I'm sitting in the office ... good morning JJ ... it has been raining all night long, but now the clouds seem to clear up and I can see some sunshine on the mountains in the south, the birds are singing and in a few hours I begin a loooong weekend ;)

Actually, this song and a few others of the old times, like Doris Day's Que sera sera, come to my mind sometimes when I'm on a walk alone in a forest or so - but I can't sing and hope I didn't scare the animals when sometimes I tried to sing loud ;) lol

I hope you have a fine day my friend 🙂

Good morning or mid Morning or perhaps late morning almost midday my friend

Que Sera Sera is another song I love funnily enough I sung that line of the song yesterday, all be it very badly I cannot sing to save myself and have a terrible voice, but did sing that line to my wife while joking around and she sang the chorus , she can sing well.

I A rainy day here but that doesn't bother me since I will be indoors anyway

Have a great day

Good afternoon JJ 😉

My wife sang in a choir when she was young, but I don't think she can sing better than I do - she was there only because of the boys I believe ;) lol

I have just come home from work - it has got a bit colder because of the rain last night, but the weather was nice. They predict some rainy days though. I don't mind either, because this means that everything will grow now and I will go for a walk tomorrow morning anyway :)

Have a great day too my friend ... oh, I've just seen that there are a few more comments from you to which I'll reply right now 😉

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Positive Thinking : Catch A Rainbow Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

👍🙂👍

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

👍🙂👍

Awesome walk you had, my friend! I think that the brightened trees are so firey that it gives one a feeling of warmth. That photo is artsy, I think! Many of the homes here have rose bushes planted in their front yards. I should show those sometime. Happy Wednesday, @tattoodjay!Take care 🥰🌺🤙
https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@silversaver888/two-little-free-libraries-in-my-neighborhood

Thanks for ht evisit and dropping your link, and yes would be great to see the roses in your neighborhood :)

!tip

wow! an intresting contrast, I like it. something says me, in the magic hour it would look even more charming.

Ohh yeah it is really nice in the evening around Sunset, but I was normally well on my way out of the city by then

the light day elongates with each day... and the famouse 'white nights of St Petersburg' are already coming to their rights (the brightest nights are from May to June)

👍🙂👍

I've missed so much of your breathe taking images.

This is really awesome. I think I will join again starting with the make me smile challenge.

I have been missing in action for a long while. Thanks to the lockdown, I've gone back to a location I can access electricity and internet.

How are you coping with the pandemic Jay.

Thanks thats so kind of you to say, Nice to hear from you and glad that you have access to electricity and interment I hope you are coping well

we are staying indoors and safe for the most part and doing fine

That's good to know. I'm also trying to cope well, though not easy :)

Please continue to stay safe.

It is hard at these time,s but do the best you can

It is a pity, that the roses were not blooming!!

I do have some shots of the roses blooming, but they were a month or so later so really didn't go with the other photos

Very nice! Every time I see your photos of NYC it makes me want to visit... perhaps I'll wait a little while however. Shared :-)

Thanks and yes not a good time to visit for sure, I am not even sure I will ever make it back there

Fantastic shots! I love that song too. Lynn Anderson was really awesome. There is a punk cover of it that is really good as well. I like the pink path on the first photo!

I remember when that song came out I was only 10 at the time but somehow stuck to me, thanks for your feedback and have a great day

How I wish there's a lovely park near me too... here's my #wednesdaywalk feature for the week... keep safe everyone! :)

https://hive.blog/hive-155530/@iamraincrystal/wednesdaywalk-or-visiting-the-national-museum

Been weeks since i walked in a park, but soon that will be back, thanks for sharing your link here ;)

Those trees really pop out!!! I didn't realise about the collab, and I just got a suprise hive gift from @elizacheng - thankyou! xx

Yeah I may have over done the vibrance a little in the edits LOL, and yes we have been collaborating for a while :)

Lovely memories @tattoodjay, I could not find much to smile about this week after almost 5 weeks of strict lockdown but here is my son's walk through the city of ORENBURG in Russia where he finds himself stranded at the moment while their borders are closed!

Thanks and Ohh I can relate, me and my wife haven't been out for a walk for the same time frame as you, with the virus and all the pollen its just not sensible for us to go out walking, but I did love this post ;)

Thanks for joining the walk again and dropping off your link :)

Well, you definitely got that second picture bright and sunny looking.
Nice potential roses in the first one too.

Thanks I may have gone a little overboard with the vibrance :) cheers

Maybe a bit. :) It certainly is cheery though.

LOL well maybe I need to do a darker post over the weekend to balance it up :)

Hello dear friend @tattoodjay I really like this challenge, I will see if this year I can participate more often.
This garden is incredible, its size and beauty is incomparable.
Success

Thanks would be great to have you join the walk when you can
and when I worked there I loved that garden and grounds and often went for walks there

@tattoodjay thank you for the Hive, much appreciated.

MY pleasure a token of thanks :)

Thanks for sharing your link here :)

That is a massive rose garden at the beginning of this blog @tattoodjay I can imagine how beautiful it would look (and smell) during its peak season. And I love the tree lined street. Very picturesque.

Ohh yeah its a real nice garden they have there with so many different varieties of roses so beautiful when they are all in bloom

Thanks and thanks for dropping your post here ;)

Wow, those pictures are so amazing that I can almost smell the roses (and thanks for the ear worm...now I've got, "I beg your pardon... I never promised you a rose garden" playing in my head! 😂).

Here's my contribution this week - I actually managed to get new shots today!

https://hive.blog/hive-155530/@traciyork/wednesdaywalkinmyyardtodayapril29th2020-to24ftfi5g

Thanks as always for being an awesome host!

!tip hive

Well I hope there is worse songs to be sticking your head LOL, and perhaps I did over do the vibrance in this post but its how my mood was at the time lOL

Thanks for sharing your link here ;)

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @traciyork!

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

👍🙂👍

Wow I love the editing. The colors are so vibrant they are almost magical!

Thanks I wondered if I had overdone the colors, so glad you liked them :)

Oh! that is a beautiful spot in the city - You always find such beauty in the city - Thanks for sharing!

I have a #WednesdayWalk post at: https://peakd.com/hive-114105/@porters/mypictureday-wednesday-walk-with-a-new-direction-as-the-snow-recedes

Thanks and I do miss my city walks

and thanks for dropping your link here ;)

Not Roses but still very bright and colorful

Thanks and when the roses came out I did take many shot of them last year ;)

Spectacular colors of flowering trees)

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Thank you very much for the surprise Hive, Jay! That was very sweet of you.💕

Hope you're easing into a new retirement schedule and enjoying stress free days! @tattoodjay

I'll be back with a link after I get my post up. Be well, my friend!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

WOwo! All so different... under corona effect.

LOL very true


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @cloudblade for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.