Wednesday Walk The Walk that wasnt

in Wednesday Walk4 years ago

Wednesday Walk The Walk that wasnt

This post if for Wednesday walk challenge And Make me Smile Collaboration challenge, initially our collaboration was once a month but due to the popularity of it we have decided to make the collab a weekly thing :)

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

Add a bit of a write up about where you walked

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all, especially if its not one of the first 5 tags or I may miss seeing it .

Following me and re-Hiving the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending some Hive to a selection of those who participate.

Actifit

A good App that works well in conjunction with the Wednesday Walk or any day walk is @actifit, which rewards you with Actifit Tokens and Upvotes, if you use the app to track your steps and do a post of your actifit total each day.

If you do a lot of activity I do recommend you check it out

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the [Make Me Smile] hosted by @elizacheng,

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

The walk that wasn't

Now you may think the walk that wasn't is a funny name for a Wednesday Walk post but it will make sense later in the post.

These shots are from when we were heading to see the Kids in Cape Cod when they were staying there for a week and we saw a Sign for the BOardwalk in Sandwich so decided to go and check it out

and this is the view of the start of the boardwalk where we parked

 the walk that wasnt.jpg


Sony A7iii 48mm F8 1/320 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



The original Walk was a plankwalk was built in 1875 and reconstructed in 1992

 the walk that wasnt3.jpg

Sony A7iii 40mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I am guessing these names and many more are to thanks those who support the maintenance of the boardwalk

 the walk that wasnt4.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/250 ISO 125
Click here to view larger



A black and white shot of the start of the boardwalk and the bridge, you can see what I meant by many more names

 the walk that wasnt5.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/250 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now to explain the walk that Wasnt, in the first shot and the next shot you can see that there are hand rails on the middle of the bridge over the water, but not at either end and yet the Boardwalkis fairly high at that point, if you are not comfortable with heights

 the walk that wasnt2.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Now Lulu, who you can see in the next shot is not comfortable with heights, he did really well and made it out onto he bridge part, but was not comfortable with heading further on the boardwalk after the rails end, so we turned and headed back and went to another spot, I think she did well as when I got there and saw the first view I didn't expect her to even make it onto the bridge so I was proud of her, and we did plenty of walking on the rest of the day

 the walk that wasnt6.jpg

Sony A7iii 45mm F8 1/320 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Weekly giveaway of shares


I am sending Hive to a few people selected through a random draw so on the weekend all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk. this week I am sending 1 Hive to @chocolatescorpi and @photowanze

@elizacheng will send one SBI share to @angiemitchell


As @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges

And one person is randomly drawn who joins both challenges to receive one Hive from me and this week it is @TBA

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!pinmapple 41.764605 lat -70.485529 long Boardwalk Sandwich MA d3scr

Sort:  

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Du wurdest als Member von @investinthefutur gevotet!
Dazu noch ein kleines !BEER


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @investinthefutur for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 23 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Those are some pretty great shots. I think I would be nervous too going out there without hand rails. It was probably a smart move to play it safe!

Hello dear friend @tattoodjay good morning
What beautiful places you always show us, not only beautiful, but also full of history, I have already told you on another occasion, that I love how people maintain places very well, it is appreciated that they love where they live and want to see it well.
Thank you very much for all the explanation of the walk that was not
Have a wonderful day

Thanks I do love seeing history restored and maintained, thanks for such a kind comment, I try and mix up my posts and keep them interesting

You to have a wonderful day

That's a great idea to carve the names into the planks and the boardwalks look like a cool place to stroll around.
Lulu looks happy though, maybe because she already knows that she doesn't have to walk further 😊

This reminds me on a hike many years ago when I was a child. We have been hiking up a mountain slope with our neighbors. The slope was quite steep and the two mothers almost cried because there was no path. The men laughed and we children too, but it got worse when we reached the top, because there was a very narrow mountain ridge to cross. I don't need to tell more I think, and we had to cook the dinner ourselves that evening 🤣


Cheers and !BEER
!tip
!invest_vote

OHh yeah that photo of LUlu was after we agreen to go back, she is now wanting to go and try it again s she feels more confident, lets see how it goes if we make it there, I would love to walk across the boardwalk to the beach but only if she was comfortable doing so, I have no fear of heights but can understand people that do

OHh yeah I can understand the ladies were upset and the men had to take care of their own food lOL

Cheers and !BEER
!bro

Cool, she wants to make you happy and try it again. If that works she will see that a little height is not dangerous and you can take her to more places 😊

I have also a friend who is afraid to even climb on a small ladder, staying on a table would almost be too high for her, but sometimes she needs to and a couple of years ago she has even been with us on a mountain. Her knees trembled as she looked down into the valley, but she was happy :)


Cheers and !BEER
!bro
!invest_vote

It was her idea to go again this morning when she saw these photos, I will not push her to do it, its her call if she want sot or not we have many options of places to walk within the radius t the boardwalk so its all good

I think my Wife would not stand on a table, and she gets wobbly just looking out th window up a few floors,

Hope your day is going welll

Cheers and !BEER
!bro

Great, and when she knows she can always go back to a safer place she will think positive and that will help her 😊

Yes, my day was quite okay. The afternoon was a bit overcast so I stayed at home and have done some some editing for a post 😁

I hope your day is also good and you have time for other things than working in the basement 😉


Cheers and !BEER
!ENGAGE 30
!bro

Exactly time will tell, and we have so many other places we want to check out before winter, if we don't make it back there I wont be worried

Glad it was a quiet day for you, some strange clouds today, could make for an interesting sunset, but were both tired after a coupelof busy days so not sure we will head out this evening

Cheers my friend

Cheers and !BEER
If one engages he gets !ENGAGE 25 from me

We have had a heavy thunderstorm last night, but the day seems to become beautiful again 😀

I hope you have a not so busy and very nice day that you can recover a bit from all the work you have to do around the house.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

bro.gif

You have just been bro-fisted by the guys in the man cave and now have 1 more BRO. Enjoy!**

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @misterengagement, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

bro.gif

You have just been bro-fisted by the guys in the man cave and now have 1 more BRO. Enjoy!**

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Macros And More | #Alphabethunt For The Letter R Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Did you ever find out why the boardwalk was constructed that way? I'll be a bit edgy about beginning and ending my walk on that as I might experience vertigo while on the portion without the railing. Very ingenious way to acknowledge the sponsors of the boardwalk. Keep safe!

I am not sure why they did it that way, I have no issue with heights so I was fine with it, but I think it was a mix of a fear of height and vertigo for my wife, good thing is there ae many other places around here for walks she is fine with ;)

I think those would be my issues too on crossing the boardwalk.

She said this morning she feels she could do it now, I am not so sure but if she asks to go there again we can try but if she isn't comfortable again we will just head somewhere else ;)

It's actually suprising that in this day and age of concern that they don't have hand railings the whole way isn't it. It really doesn't take much of a fall- even a step to really hurt yourself does it...

Looks like a nice spot though.

And did you say it is called Sandwich too??? 😮

Yeah I was surprised to see it built like that, I would have had nop problem but i can understand my wife and others feeling a bit of vertigo or fear on it, luckily there are many walks here which are fine

Thank You ! ;-)

most welcome

Beautiful and high quality photos. Liked the unusual sidewalk. Nice and bright post. Thanks you.

Thanks so much for your visit and support ;)

Nice photography.

Thanks Kindly :)

Awesome and interesting boardwalk, lovely photography and so nice to see Lulu out and about; I'm very much like her when it comes to heights, terrified of it in fact but I did a high suspension bridge once, and think it will be easier next time!
My contribution this week after a short absence is Kitesurfing and Watching the Waves at Scottburgh, hope you enjoy it.

Ohh yes it is a lovely place and even better that Lulu is feeling healthy now and getting out and about for me she had such a rough 8 years, and she feels like a new person now :)
Thanks for sharing the link off to check it out now

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

You're welcome @tattoodjay🙂👍

I love your Wednesdaywalk idea and also am enamoured of guidelines rather than rules. Great photos. I understand why anyone would be feeling a little unnerved walking across the higher part of the bridge.

I have never been a fan of rules and this is more about getting out and walking and having fun so why have rules

Thanks for the visit

Lovely thought using boards to remember loved ones by, places over here sell bricks when building in some parts as memories with small plaque, this is an ideal way to fund raise in an on-going manner to restore community development projects.

Wooden bridges, swinging bridges are not for everyone, Lulu did well going a little way out. My sister-in-law absolutely froze in a shopping mall on Monday unable to get onto an escalator, yes it affects people.

!tip
!BEER

I have seen the brick ones as well, I thought the names etched onto boards was a great idea and a wonderful memorial

Lulu wants to try it again she thinks she can do it now, i guess time will tell

It really is a wonderful way to remember people, also assisting in keeping the region in good repair, a board should last at least 5 years before needing replacement which means rotating becomes on-going.

Sending greetings to Lulu, hopefully next time all the way over, if not... a case of have tried, so it's not the end of the world...

Yes I think so and the boardwalk did look so well maintained
I do agree its a step if Lulu tries it again, but i don't really mind if she does or not, there are plenty of other places we can walk here :)

Have a great weekend


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Roaming Spirit Feasting Your Eyes Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

You have such lovely spots to go walking with the bridges and boardwalks! I can relate to LuLu not wanting to walk on that walkway without any rails, I think I would turn back too!

I have a #WednesdayWalk post for you at: https://peakd.com/hive-114105/@porters/wednesday-walk-frost-has-hit-bringing-on-signs-of-fall

We are lucky where we moved to a lot more walks and places to visit than we thought there would be, we are loving our new house and area

I just went and visited your post thanks for sharing the link :)

have a great day and weekend

So happy you have found a wonderful place for your retirement and that you are getting back into sharing your photography!

Thanks and glad to be back posting

Have a great day

Love old wooden bridges and you really showed them well here from every angle 👍

Thanks so kind of you to say have a great weekend

Love bridges especially nice wooden bridges you captured this one beautifully 👍

Thanks I do ove bridges as well :)
Have a great day