A walk in the woods I never knew that existed, and then... a whole different world :)

in Wednesday Walklast year

IMG_9165.jpg

There is something magic about small islands, although Crete, the island where I currently live, is not the smallest one in Greece. On the contrary, it is the biggest one. Still, you can drive from one side to the other within 4,5 hours so not that big :) The variety of landscapes, vegetation, architecture, cultures that you can meet in such small places is fascinating.


Living in the eastern part of the isalnd, we headed up to the west to do some island hopping with our small van. A trip that started about two months ago and came to an end a few days ago.

The western part is definitely more green, but I never expected to spend the first morning in the woods!

IMG_9149.jpg

IMG_9150.jpg

Neither did I expect to spend the first night at the house (actually the yard) of my Vipassana teachers for whom I have great respect and I must admit that I was anxious meeting them outside the seminar. The reason for that visit was that we wanted to drop off some olive oil for the seminars.

For those who don't know, Vipassana seminars usually last 10 days (there are other that last longer) and they are based on donations of the students. You take the seminar and when it is finished there is a donation box to give whatever amount you want or can. Well, when I did it I literally had just the money to take the ship to Athens and the bus to get there and return back, so whenever possible I like to give anything I can, because honestly I feel extremely grateful for this seminar. Anyone who has done it will probably understand :)

We left from their house full of precious presents like this one!

IMG_9175.jpg
Ziziphus jujuba


Their house is just 15' from the crowded city, located next to a forest. Believe me, forests are not very common here :)

IMG_9154.jpg

A very pleasant surprise for my companion photographer and for Marcos as well that he had the chance to run amongst the trees, while I was worried about the shepherds around. I wish I was as carefree as he is when he is running and fooling around.

IMG_9148.jpg

It had been a long time since the last time I was in a woodsy place, I had forgotten how amazingly beautiful it is. Next to it there is a late Minoan cemetery, and as you know ancients paid a lot of attention to the energy of the places. It felt special and very light being there. Unfortunately no dogs where allowed in the archaeological site, so it was just what we could see from the fence. Returning to the forest seemed a good idea anyway.

IMG_9156.jpg

It is not a huge place and as you can see in the picture above it is surrounded by olive groves. The difference between the natural and the cultivated terrain is interesting.

IMG_9151.jpg

IMG_9160.jpg

We didn't meet many flowers during summer, so the few that we found took all our attention!


After our walk we had a luxurious second breakfast! Who says you can't be fancy when you are on the road? Oats, chia seeds, sesame paste, banana, mango and cinnamon :)
And hot cocoa!

IMG_9172.jpg


And then, in a quarter we were at this small cute beach. The sun falls quickly there, good for reading not for taking photos :)

IMG_9183.jpg


That was a big day. Oh well, you know, travelling is not an easy job :)

IMG_9189.jpg

This is my #wednesdaywalk contribution for the wonderful challenge by @tattoodjay!

Happy walks everyone!



All the pictures and the words are mine.

If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post.

Sort:  

Early mornings in the woods is the ideal start to my day.

This spot looks perfect!
Great photos.

Ziziphus jujuba

These look familiar. I'll google them later. I'm just doing a quick browse using the airport wifi!

Oh my, you are amazing! Just a quick browse at the airport? You are very flexible Milly :)

That was a great place, yes! And very unexpected to be there. It was a super nice first morning of a super nice trip. I still carry the feeling of being there. Some places speak to us :)

I didn't know neither the tree or the fruit before moving to Crete and it is very tasty. This particular variety was extra delicious.

I hope you had a nice trip! Enjoyyyy!

Nothing so refreshing as a walk in the woods when as beautiful as it is there

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk

Oh yes! And you might be in a place full of forests and untouched land, but a small forest in that particular place was a great surprise :)

Thank you @tattoodjay!

PS. I hope your wife is well!

Very nice pictures that you show this.You are very good at taking pictures.

Thank you so much for your kind comment @mnurhiver :)

You're welcome. I am very entertained by this post

Gorgeous day you had. Lucky you. Hard to not Be Happy in such circumstances, huh ;)

I have a friend on his way to Crete. And now I know there's a Vipassana center there (?) or nearby?

Amazing practice. 🐾

A beautiful place certainly helps to feel better and when this place is a forest the feeling can be magic :)

Unfortunately there is no Vipassana center here, there are seminars that take place in Athens by two great teachers. Amazing practice indeed! Do you practice Vipassana?

I hope your friend will have a great time at the island and thank you so much for stopping by :)

Thanks for the info

I sent him your story so will let him know this as well. 👍

Forests and lakes are my favourite place. And mountains amd streams 👍

Yes I do 😊

It's the only meditation technique I practice now. After using and trying many.

It's quite incredible. The results 💥

Forests and lakes are my favorite place. And mountains and streams

Oh yes, love it all. And the sea, is when I feel I am back home :)

I am so glad you practice! The results, yes! I am off for quite a long time and I am thinking of having another seminar to refresh things and start again! It means a lot to me.

"Start again..." makes me smile.

I love it when Goenka says that in the course sittings. 😁

If I let it drop I just start with a 30 minute Anapana for a week and then bump it up again to the advanced sitting. I've also yet to keep a steady practice. Tough in a busy world yet more important than ever :/

But a course if you haven't been for a while... well... they are always so special. 💓

Congratulations @traisto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record

Thank you :)

You're welcome @traisto, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍

What a great and pleasant way to start off your day, waking up in the wood, then have a wee wonder around. I don't normally have a second breakfast, normally just afternoon tea so I might try sometimes. thank you for sharing with us.

Hello dear @dora381! Can you imagine life if every morning we could wake up in a forest or something similar?

I think I eat way more when I am out in nature. Has to do with fresh air, no? Haha! Truth is that I never get out of the house without a good breakfast and then I need a brunch in about 3 hours and then lunch in another 3 hours and it goes like that, I eat like babies every few hours :)

my friend you just painted a perfect picture for my morning. I could even hear the birds are singing calling me to wake up, the warm sunshine... just perfect.

Oh that's just like me when I was working in a blueberry farm - eating every 2 hours. Our work normally lasted 10 hours per day so we had breaks every two hours - they called it Smoko here.

my friend you just painted a perfect picture for my morning.

I am glad! You are always sooo sweet :)

Blueberry farm? That sounds interesting. But 10 hours per day??? Even with smokos, it must have been hard...

Oh yes, I was always exhausted at the end of the day. However, one thing I love is the ability to fall asleep fast. I just went to bed and 5 minutes later I could sleep. Amazing