Wednesday Walk - Summer Meadows & Wetlands

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Happy Wednesday everyone! Today, I'd like to share a few photos taken over the last few days in meadows and wetlands found across western Michigan, USA. While I typically focus on fungi when walking through the woods, I also enjoy taking photos of any other wildlife I come across that I find interesting.

Over the past few days, I have directed my attention towards the plants and animals that inhabit the meadows and wetlands near my home. I was able to come across a beautiful variety of organisms ranging from the endangered Blanding's Turtle (Emydoidea blandingii) and Rattlesnake Master (Eryngium yuccifolium) to the elegant and delicate Polyphemus Moth (Antheraea polyphemus) and Spined Micrathena (Micrathena gracilis).

IMG_3318.JPG

I feel so blessed to be able to live in an area of the world teeming with such beautiful and unique wildlife. It may not be a tropical rainforest, but the variety and complexity of life that resides in my region of the world is a gift that I take for granted far too often. Shifting my focus away from my typical subjects of the forest fungi to the plants and animals of the region offers me a chance to reset my wonder and remind myself to always be curious, always pay attention, and always appreciate the life that surrounds me here and now. I hope you all can find the time to do the same.

As always, feel free to offer your suggestions if you believe that I have misidentified any of the species shown below.

AMPHIBIANS & REPTILES

Blanding's Turtle (Emydoidea blandingii) [ENDANGERED]:

image.png

American Toad (Anaxyrus americanus):

image.png

Green Frog (Lithobates clamitans):

image.png

BIRDS

American Goldfinch (Spinus tristis):

image.png

Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias):

image.png

Mallard (Anas platyrhynchos):

image.png

Pileated Woodpecker (Dryocopus pileatus):

image.png

Eastern Kingbird (Tyrannus tyrannus):

image.png

INSECTS & ARACHNIDS

Polyphemus Moth (Antheraea polyphemus):

image.png

image.png

Elm Spanworm Moth (Ennomos subsignaria):

image.png

Black Swallowtail (Papilio polyxenes):

image.png

Allegheny Mound Ant (Formica exsectoides):

image.png

Four-toothed Mason Wasp (Monobia quadridens):

image.png

Harvestmen (Subfamily Leiobuninae):

image.png

Grass-carrying Wasps (Genus Isodontia):

image.png

Genus Sphex:

image.png

Spined Micrathena (Micrathena gracilis):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Wolf Spiders (Family Lycosidae):

image.png

PLANTS

Ghost Pipe (Monotropa uniflora):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Pinesap (Monotropa hypopitys):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Black Elderberry (Sambucus canadensis):

image.png

Bittersweet Nightshade (Solanum dulcamara):

image.png

Canada Goldenrod (Solidago canadensis):

image.png

White Meadowsweet (Spiraea alba):

image.png

Southern Arrowwood (Viburnum recognitum):

image.png

Common Boneset (Eupatorium perfoliatum):

image.png

Rattlesnake Master (Eryngium yuccifolium) [ENDANGERED]:

image.png

Chicory (Cichorium intybus):

image.png

Wood Nettle (Laportea canadensis):

image.png

Red Baneberry (Actaea rubra):

image.png

White Baneberry (Actaea pachypoda):

image.png

Cardinal Flower (Lobelia cardinalis):

image.png

Buttonbush (Cephalanthus occidentalis):

image.png

Wild Teasel (Dipsacus fullonum):

image.png

Common Jewelweed (Impatiens capensis):

image.png

Happy Wednesday to you all. Thank you for walking with me.

IMG_3254.JPG


My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

Creary Gallery: https://creary.net/@tych021/projects

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

NFTShowroom reflink: https://nftshowroom.com/?r=tych021

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tych021

Vimm.tv: https://www.vimm.tv/tych021

Sort:  

Wow that was intense. So many great photos and such a variety of plants and animals and insects. I think the ghostpipes are my favorite. Such an unexpected color on the forest floor always a fun find. I love the call of the pileated woodpecker. Its been cool enough to sleep with the windows open lately and a pileated woodpecker has been my alarm clock lately lol 6am on the dot.

Ghost pipes are a really interesting plant. Both them and pinesap do not have any green coloration to them since they do not perform photosynthesis. They are parasites on the underground mycelium of mushroom species. They are fairly rare in some parts of the eastern United States, but thankfully they grow abundantly where I live. Fascinating plants!

such beautiful lush greens and so many critters and birds

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Wow! These photos of your local wildlife are amazing! Thank you for sharing

You captured a nice crop of wildlife there !

Hi @tych021, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON