Wednesday Walk - Walking Through the Wildflowers

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

This week, I took a walk through a local park that sits in a small valley carved out by a slow-moving stream. While much of the surrounding land has been converted to corn monocultures, the moist, alluvial soil that covers this park makes for an oasis of wildflowers in the spring months. After the prior few weeks of consistent rainfall, the flowers are finally in bloom. As they say, April showers bring May flowers.

While there were a variety of wildflowers that I encountered on my walk through the woods, the fields of White Trillium (Trillium grandiflorum) and Virginia Bluebells (Mertensia virginica) were easily the most striking. Fed by the mineral-rich soils that line the banks of the stream, these species displayed their brilliant and ephemeral inflorescence for the world to see. To find so many beautiful flowers growing in one location is relatively rare for my region, and it is an opportunity I cherish whenever I have the chance to experience it.

I hope that you enjoy these picture of wildflowers as much as I did taking them.

IMG_9467.JPG

IMG_9477.JPG

IMG_9372.JPG

IMG_9591.JPG

IMG_9766.JPG

IMG_9799.JPG

IMG_9804.JPG

IMG_9806.JPG

Large White Trillium (Trillium grandiflorum):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Virginia Bluebells (Mertensia virginica):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Fringed Polygala (Polygaloides paucifolia):

image.png

image.png

Dwarf Ginseng (Panax trifolius):

image.png

image.png

Marsh Marigold (Caltha palustris):

image.png

image.png

Virginia Spring Beauty (Claytonia virginica):

image.png

image.png

Bristly Buttercup (Ranunculus hispidus):

image.png

Common Blue Violet (Viola sororia):

image.png

image.png

Canadian Wild Ginger (Asarum canadense):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Blue Cohosh (Caulophyllum thalictroides):

image.png

Wild Geranium (Geranium maculatum):

image.png

Mayapple (Podophyllum peltatum):

image.png

Canadian Lousewort (Pedicularis canadensis):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Largeflower Bellwort (Uvularia grandiflora):

image.png

Red Deadnettle (Lamium purpureum):

image.png

European Lily of the Valley (Convallaria majalis):

image.png

image.png

Starflower (Lysimachia borealis):

image.png

Garden Yellowrocket (Barbarea vulgaris):

image.png

Oregon Grape (Berberis aquifolium):

image.png

Common Lilac (Syringa vulgaris):

image.png

image.png

Japanese Pachysandra (Pachysandra terminalis):

image.png

image.png

Lesser Celandine (Ficaria verna):

image.png

Garlic Mustard (Alliaria petiolata):

image.png

image.png

Apples (Genus Malus):

image.png

Thank you for walking with me.


My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

Creary Gallery: https://creary.net/@tych021/projects

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

NFTShowroom reflink: https://nftshowroom.com/?r=tych021

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tych021

Vimm.tv: https://www.vimm.tv/tych021

Sort:  

Wow, that's beautiful, thanks for the info on the names of the flowers. It is really interesting for me to see the flowers and learn about their names through your article 😊

I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

Yeah, it is very useful for me, I followed your account to see more useful information from your next posts. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for all these IDs I rarely know what I'm looking at when it comes to wildflowers.

WOW what a beautiful area, a great place to be at one at one with nature, I love all the flowers they are all so beautiful

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!