Around Kamakura's Shopping Street

I still have 1 more chance left to use my Seishun 18 Kippu til September 10. If you recall, I shared details about using this ticket when I went to Atami Sun Beach. It's a discounted ticket that I can use to travel with friends or by myself if I'm using JR trains. I already shared it to 2 of my friends when we went to Onjuku Beach.

I told my friend about it and turned out, she also got 1 remaining chance to use her Seishun 18 Kippu ticket. We then decided to travel somewhere on the last day the ticket can be used. But the problem is we cannot decide where to go. Our choices are either too far or too complicated to go there.

At the last minute, we settled for Kamakura.

Kamakura is an hour's train ride from Ikebukuro Station where my friend and I met. As usual, there were so many people in Ikebukuro but not on the train platform.

Ikebukuro station train platform, waiting for the train

It was still early when we arrived at Kamakura Station.

Outside Kamakura Station

At 9:30 AM, most of the shops in the shopping district were still closed. We were surprised that most of them will open at 10 AM. Since it's still early, we were looking for breakfast and found Komeda Coffee open.

Few people because still close

Few shops have started business

Big breakfast at Komeda Coffee

My tiramisu drink to keep me awake

We stayed in the cafe for an hour to finish our big breakfast and noticed that some business have started to open and the crowd was starting to build up.

View from the cafe

Many people were in the shade eating something too

We were a bit curious what the people were eating in the shade. After our thorough investigation, we found out it's curry bread they were so happily eating. Curry bread is kinda popular in this street and we didn't know about it. We were not in the mood to eat too. I mean hello, we just had a big breakfast. 😅

We're back on the street again. It was so hot but it's chilly because Autumn just started. There were so many shops offering food along the street.

Shops were also selling different kinds of stuff, not just food. There were souvenirs, household items, toys, decorations and many more.

Some kind of stationery store? Not sure

We went inside one of the stores selling various souvenirs with designs. My friend was so hooked into accessories so she was kinda busy looking for rings while I roamed around the store.

Wallets with cute and so "Japanized" designs

Even scrunchies and earrings were so cute

Wrapping cloth

Hand towels

CharmsEarringsRings

In the end, she was able to buy something for herself. The rings were not expensive so it was a good buy for her. I wasn't really in the mood to buy anything but I saw some phone cases with "Japanized" designs and wanted to get one for myself though I still didn't buy them.

We continued walking along the shopping street and decided to go to the shrine at the end of the street. On the way there, we stopped by a shop selling wooden kitchen stuff.

Spoons and forks of different sizes all for 150 yen or 1 USD

The store doesn't just sell wooden spoons and forks but they also sell lunch boxes, trays, ladles and many more. Everything is wooden. Of course, my friend bought something again. She's into this kind of stuff.

At the end of the street, there weren't shops anymore but there's a big restaurant at the left side. We didn't bother checking it out but it seems like a popular restaurant. We went to the right side where the entrance to the shrine's located.

I won't be sharing about the shrine here because I already posted it in this link. The shrine is Kamakura's Shinto Shrine which is very popular and not to be missed when in Kamakura.

After Kamakura's Shinto Shrine, we decided to go to Enoshima but to get there, we needed to take the train and bus so we went back to the Kamakura Station. To go back to the station, we need to pass by the shopping street again.

Going back to the shopping street from the shrine

This time, there were many people because it's past lunch time. I guess people were eating their lunch around here. If you want to eat lunch here, I suggest you get yourself a shirasu (baby sardines) bowl which is kinda popular in Kamakura and Enoshima.

We saw some more stores that we didn't really notice when we passed by earlier. But we were kinda in a hurry so we didn't buy anything.

Bread store

Souvenirs

A look inside the souvenir shop above

We're nearing the entrance from the station.

Leaving Komachi Street

This shopping street is called Komachi Street, and on both ends, you can find a red gate (torii) which means you're entering a sacred place.

Noticable artwork of shoguns inside Kamakura station

I'll be ending my post here but our journey to Enoshima continues so next time, I'll be sharing about this island in Fujisawa.

This post is an addition to the #WednesdayWalk initiative by @tattoodjay.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

Holy sh*t! Good thing I wasn't there as I would have eaten all the food and spent all my money on those things. See? there's advantage in not being there as well, although it's painful 😂

Bwahahahahah! I can totally understand. That's why every chance we get we're eating 😂 I think this travel was more on eating than really travelling 😂
I guess the secret is to eat a lot before coming here? Though would be not nice to not enjoy food offered only here

The tiramisu looks delish!!
If I were to visit that place, I would need to spend the whole day visiting almost all the shops. It looks like they offer a lot!

Kulang nga C ung oras namin! 😂 Wish we could have stayed more but maybe our wallets will complain 😂

Always good to use a discount before it ends. You choose a cute place to visit.
So much to see in the streets.
Breakfast does look delicious @wittyzell 😋
Looking forward to the rest of your travels 😎
Have a wonderful day further 👋🏻

Thanks a lot! Really a nice place!

You are welcome @wittyzell 👋🏻😊

Nicey, that's a good long walk? Hihi. And the foodsss, that's really a heavy meal. Ganyan dapat ang breakfast ee haha, looks yum yum. And mukhang madaming nabudol kay friend mo haha. Buti ikaw wala sa mood bumili haha. Ang saya mag lakad lakad jan, dami talagang ahop na madadaanan no.

Window shopping lang muna ako 😅
I'm usually buying something every time I'm travelling but not at this time. Ewan. Maybe because I got so full from breakfast? 😂

Hahaha or maybe ayaw ng system mo kasi alam mong bababa ang mga coins kaya mag sisave ka? Charowt wahahaha

Kasi may sale pa hahahaha charot

Hahahaha buy na, pero baka bumaba pa HAHAHA

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk

Thanks too!

I love to get some wooden utensils

It’s a nice collection if you’re into it. 😅

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

gondoo.

Mas maganda ka? charot hahahaha

mas maganda ka, witty~ yieee. hahaha

HAHAHAHA ewan ko sayo demo

The wooden spoon and fork caught my attention☺️. I also love to have that!

But why do the shops open so late in that place? 🤔

I'm also not sure. I think their usual business hours is 10 or 11 where many tourists arrive.

Hello witty

Ah kamakura has very colourful beauties:food stores ,shops and people.If I am not wrong, in your previous post , you talked about the place. Your blog is always amazing. Thanks for sharing.
💞💖

Yesss! I shared about Kamakura’s Shrine. It’s really nice place @th4488 hope you could visit it one day

I would probably check the stationery store, hihi. Oh, those hair accessories are kawaii! Might buy a scrunchy with just the plain design. Hmm, I noticed that the Japanese love long skirts, or is it because it is the cold season?

I haven’t gone inside the stationery store but I think it’s nice there because the outside seems nice 😅
Umm, everyone is not so used to wearing short skirts I guess. You’ll definitely see long skirts everywhere. Do we look like manangs? 😅 I have long skirts too!

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record

Ganda, linis talaga ng kalye nila yun yung una kong napansin. Also yung chix rin.

Feel ko nga chix lang napansin mo eh. 😂
Pero yeah, street is nice and clean~ Syempre they're attracting tourists, they should present their best. Everywhere in Japan's like that though

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1694.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Kamakura in Japan is really beautiful.Thanks for sharing it wittyzel.

It is, @meta007! Hope you can come someday