You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking back Control

in OnChainArt3 years ago

That's a lot of stuff going on with each paragraph. One of the best advices I got from trying to reduce the amount of stress is cutting off social media, news, and radio. The first one is a bit difficult to do especially when our livelihoods are connected to its usage (trying to analyze trends, and picking up some viral news) but I time my social media use to an hour or two daily.

Always fascinated with art styles or brush strokes that can render an image with minimal details and yet convey form and mood like yours. I've been browsing some pinterest photos that feature the same or similar style, following the less is more type of art works. Hope you have a good day! :D

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

That's awesome! 2h seems ok, especially if it includes chats and talking to people about art. It's hard to separate the 2 so end up spending too much time scrolling because I get easily distracted.
Thank you <3 These are ~5min doodles, I asked people on twitter for ideas. All_compressed.jpg Not all worked out (not included) but still, a time limit is hugeeeee, for learning what details are important. Also I've been playing a little Scriblio lately xD It's really fun :D
Hope you have a great day too <333

Your 5 min doodles are equivalent to hours of me rendering the same image. I can appreciate the gap in years of mastering your craft to accomplish those in 5 mins. It's amazing! Hope I can get to half that level by next year. 😄

 3 years ago  

Thank you <3 and yes keep working on it, it is years of experience, but you'll get there sooner or later depending on how much you draw and learn ^^
Personally Daily Spitpaints (30min) for a month helped me a lot, to loosen up brush strokes and to get used to time limits.

30mins seems better than those 4 hours a day drawing plans I initially thought I would have to do. The lazy me wants to bargain. Thank you for your suggestion! 😄

 3 years ago  

Well, to be fair, I would sometimes do several themes (there are new 3 themes on the fb Daily Spitpaint group). Also most of the rest of drawing time I'd do pixelart. Doing any type of art helps you improve in general. Learning shading, perspective, composition, lighting takes time but you don't need to rush those. Eventually they come naturally to you.
It's really important to do 1 hard detailed painting at least once per month. Something that pushes your abilities to the brink, doesn't matter the end result, but that artwork will improve your knowledge and great patience practice.

This is more solid advice that what I would get usually. Thank you!
One of the things I regret the most about not doing while I was active on the blockchain is conversing more with people that are in the business. I do this for a hobby but part of the lessons in gems are from the people that thrive on the industry.

Well I don't know if you even remembered this little detail of interaction I first had with you. It was that contest that helped me jumpstart my blogging (more on pushing the momentum when I was about to quit the platform). Just the small things that helped me back then and I look at old posts just to reflect on my growth.

I hope you remain active and inspire new users :D

 3 years ago  

Awww, I remember that bird tutorial, and thank you for participating back then, it was really inspiring and was happy people participated <3

I'm currently trying to manage too many things so finding balance is certainly tricky, but I have so many things I want to do art related. ^^

You should check out the pixelart community here if you haven't. I'm sponsoring a weekly contest. And actually would be happy to sponsor a non pixelart contest too. Contests were always the best way to meet people and interact when you probably wouldn't otherwise.
The way I usually approach blogging is more like a dairy, especially as I improve it's fun to go back and see how I've changed. Comments and upvotes are certainly nice, but I actually get more when I worry less about it (and other way around) xD
If you're doing this for hobby, stick to your interests, it's easy to get swayed by seeing all art online, but if you know what you want to draw, you can learn more specific things way faster.

Doing 100 dragons and dragon heads 2018-2019 improved my art in many ways. As I learn more, I feel more confident trying things that used to be intimidating (like portraits and strong colors) :)