Reviving an Old Design Style: Dream Stones

Reviving the ”Dream Stones” I last created sometime in 2017 was one of those many things on my seemingly endless list of ”I really need to get around to doing this” items.

Sure, they are a bit prosaic, but they were extremely popular, back when I had a wide range of painted stone styles on display at our local brick-and-mortar gallery.

DreamStones04.JPG

I'm not even entirely sure why I stopped using this particular style, except for maybe we sold all of them, then closed down the gallery, and then I just (more or less) forgot about them.

They are not really like my usual mandala designs... and they are boring difficult to paint, as well as very time consuming.

So now I have finished a few, and put them for sale in the eBay shop — we'll see how that works out.

AS23-035b.JPG

Speaking of "eBay Shop," a fellow artist friend tells me that people pretty much just don't look at art online" anymore.

Unless, of course, we're talking digital art and NFTs.

Painted stones are about as analog as you get!

Not ready to give up on the whole project yet, but I struggle to find anything very encouraging, anymore.

There was a time when I thought this whole project would be 3/4 online sales, and in-person shows and events would just be "extra icing on the cake." As things actually look these days, in-person sales account for about 95% of sales, and online is a very infrequent surprise.

AS23-033a.JPG

Next Step: HiveList

In recent posts, I've occasionally alluded to setting up a shop here in our own HiveList Marketplace because I am a big proponent of the idea of extending functional use cases for Hive.

And one of the ways to definitely create a tangible use for Hive is to have it be the official currency people get to buy and sell goods and services with.

So far, I have started working on some of the basic requirements to set up a store... including buying and staking some Hive-Engine LIST tokens which is part of the deal for using @hivelist.

AS17-050l.JPG
The last Dreamstone I made in 2017...

Before going forward with setting up another sales outlet, though, I need to finishing doing the bookkeeping and prepare my small business taxes.

Alchemy Stones completes its own IRS "Schedule C" and I have to get all the expenses sorted out... which means retrieving seller fee records from eBay and Etsy, and digging up the receipts relating to some booth fixtures we purchased for doing outside shows, during 2022.

I'm not much for doing bookwork, but it's part of the artistic gig. Oh well.

Thanks for visiting! Feel free to leave a comment, if you feel so inspired... engagement is part of what makes Hive such a cool venue!

AS-0000-Spacer.jpg

If you enjoy painted rocks, do check out The Hive Rocks Project and help spread the word about Hive, while also being creative!

Because I am trying to make some semblance of income — a part time living, even — I now add this footer to all my posts, in the hope that someone, somewhere, might decide to take a further look at my work, and perhaps consider supporting independent art.

Thank you, in advance, for your consideration and support!

My Alchemy Stones Patreon appeal

Alchemy Stones web site and blog

Alchemy Stones on eBay

Alchemy Stones on Etsy

Alchemy Stones on Facebook

Regardless, your upvotes and comments are always appreciated!

Thank you for supporting independent art!

2023.03.03 AS-TXT-149/117

Sort:  

Don't expect much from the online sales in Hive/Hivestore till Hive has a minimum of 30million subscribers. Those who start early and build up a follower base early would benefit more than those who who come in when Hive becomes very popular. When Hive has 30 million subscribers the price of LIST would probably be 50 times or more than what it is today.

Hivelist could also get a jump start if a large retail company adopts the platform. You cannot rule that out and if it that happens then the price of List would see a phenomenal rise quickly.

Posted using HiveLIST

In general, I don't expect much from the sales in online stores... even when using the giants like eBay and Amazon, the days where "they" brought the traffic and business are long gone... you have to bring your own traffic and buyers.

For me, it's more about (A) providing another point of contact and name exposure and (B) whether a venue has a user-friendly and highly customizable UI I can create a nice looking presentation with.

As for HiveList... we have to start somewhere, and I'd like to at least support an effort to bring more peer-to-peer commerce to Hive.


@alchemystones, sorry to see that you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Feedback from the March Hive Power Up Day
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!