I illustrated a famous phrase attributed to a lot of people/ Ilustré una frase famosa atribuida a un montón de gente.

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

mujer-1.jpg

There is a very famous phrase on the web, it is found in a lot of posts, images with the quote, things that people to share. However, what strikes me the most and seems tragicomic to me is the number of authors to whom the phrase has been attributed.

Hay una frasecilla muy famosa en la red, se encuentra en un montón de posts, imágenes con la cita, cosas que se acostumbran compartir. Sin embargo, lo que más me llama la atención y me parece tragicómico es la cantidad de autores a las que se les ha atribuido la frase.

These things happen very often. The phrase is:

"What if I fall? Oh, but my darling, What if you fly?

Estas cosas pasan muy a menudo. La frase es:

“¿Y si me caigo? Oh, pero querida, ¿qué tal si vuelas?"

It is a phrase that I like, certainly. It has been repeated in my social media feed countless times. Sometimes attributed to Ernest Hemingway, others to Peter Pan, and even Winnie the poo seems to be its author. However, the phrase belongs to Erin Hanson, a young woman born in 1995 who became famous after publishing short poems online.

Es una frase que me gusta, ciertamente. Se ha repetido en mi feed de las redes sociales innumerable cantidad de veces. Unas veces atribuidas a Ernest Hemingway, otras a Peter Pan, y hasta Winnie the poo parece ser su autor. Sin embargo, la frase pertenece a Erin Hanson, una joven nacida en 1995 que se hizo famosa tras publicar poemas cortos por internet.

It seems fascinating: that at a very young age you are known for your literary work. But, what leads readers and "content creators" to change the authorship of a poem?
I think it is simple: Many people will feel more identified and prone to share a content if they believe that it was created by a master of literature (consecrated and dead).

Parece algo fascinante: que a una edad muy temprana seas conocido por tu trabajo fascinante. Pero, que lleva a los lectores y "creadores de contenido" a cambiar la autoría de un poema?
Creo que es simple: Mucha gente se sentirá más identificada y propensa a compartir un contenido si creen que éste fue creado por un maestro de la literatura (consagrado y muerto).

It is a bit sad, I think it is important to give new writers the opportunity, but above all, to recognize the copyright of a work, no matter its origin.

Es un poco triste, creo que es importante darle a los nuevos escritores la oportunidad, pero sobre todo, el reconocimiento del derecho de autor de su trabajo.

So I dedicate this illustration to Erin, of whom I know practically nothing, and I have only read this little poem of hers, and let her readers decide her place in literature.

Así que le dedico esta ilustración a Erin, de la cual no sé prácticamente nada, y solo he leído este pequeño poema suyo, y que sean sus lectores los que decidan su lugar en la literatura.

The Poem / El poema

There is freedom waiting for you,
On the breezes of the sky,
And you ask, “What if i fall”?
Oh, but my darling,
What if you fly?
Erin Hanson

Hay libertad esperándote,
En las brisas del cielo, Y tú preguntas,
“Y si me caigo”?
Oh, pero querido, qué tal si vuelas.
Erin Hanson

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

mujer-1.jpg




I hope you enjoy. If you like it, vote for it. If you know someone who might like it, mention it. If you identify with my work, share it.

Espero que lo disfruten. Si te gusta, vótalo. Si conoces a alguien que pueda gustarle, menciónalo. Si te identificas con mi trabajo, compártelo.

Illustrations and review By Alejandra Her

Sort:  

What a simple yet great poem! It is quite sad that people feel the urge to appreciate talent only after it has been officially validated and classified as "top artist". Few actually support artists, poets, illustrators, musicians, photographers at their humble beginnings. Talent and value does not need a special certificate to be recognised. It is quite a snob mentality.

Loved the drawing, fits well with the poem!

Thanks for reading. Yes, snob may be the right word to describe this practice. And there are some people that share the content without know, it is easy to make this kind of mistakes, just by clicking share button the copyright is being violated.

My pleasure! I believe it is fair to credit whenever is necessary. It is a form of respect

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Beautiful work and research.

Winnie the Pooh would be the weirdest of all the authors.

Pigs flying would be a certain type of weird.

Haha totally, but maybe it is the funniest one. It's weird the way people attribute a phrase to a fiction character, forgetting the writer behind that character.

I agree.

Wooooow you're very talented!

Thanks @kmilart , I've been working hard

 4 years ago  

@alejandra.her, this is thoughtfully lovely. Next time I trip, I will tag it flying.

I wished I can interprete this in spanish, and I hope you'll like to teach me.

Thanks for reading my article.
Don't worry about language.

Nononono, ¡QUE HERMOSO! Gracias por dibujar e inspirarte de un pequeño poema sobre una pequeña autora y hablar, además, sobre los derechos de autor. Me identificó, gracias.

Gracias a ti por visitar mi blog y tomarte el tiempo para leer el artículo. Creo que todos los que hacemos arte y queremos hacer de esto nuestro medio de vida merecemos un poco de reconocimiento.

Me encantó todo! La ilustración quedó muy genial.

Gracias! me alegra que te pasees por mi blog.

Excellent, I loved your work. I congratulate you.

nice ART...UPVOTED

Impresionante ilustración.

 4 years ago  

Amo la paleta de colores y la sensacion de libertad que refleja la ilustracion,un excelente trabajo anatomico y artistico <3

Gracias. Ultimamente estoy trabajando con paletas de colores limitadas. Siento que me permite transmitir mejor mis ideas a través del color