I Asked Coldie a Few Questions about Crypto Art: Here are his answers.

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

ColdieQandA.jpg

In Coldie’s Twitter profile, he describes himself as a “Crypto Art + Early Adopter + Contemporary Art + Art Director + Stereoscopic 3D” creator from California, USA. When I got the opportunity recently to ask him a few questions and he agreed, I was excited.

Coldie was the first artist to tokenise stereoscopic 3D art and concert photography. He was also the first artist to make a sale in excess of USD$1,000 on SuperRare, when he sold “Edward Snowden — Variant 02 — Decentral Eyes” for 5.5561 ETH.

As someone who has just begun creating crypto art myself, I focused my questions on what might help me or other newcomers get started in the area. Without wasting any more time, below are his answers.

(Above image by Coldie. Used with permission.)


Me: What concepts/themes/ideas seem to resonate with people in your art that sells?

Coldie: I personally draw my influence from what surrounds me. Some concepts are crypto themed. Others are around crypto/gold mining because I do mining as well where I live. I also have more abstract/deeper-meaning pieces. I pride myself on being multifaceted in terms of skill set and take pride in being able to create in a variety of ways.

Me: Do any particular blockchains or token formats appeal to you and why?

Coldie: I began tokenizing on ERC-20. That was before ERC-721 existed. Since then, I have stuck to 721s because the art market grew around that, and I was there at the beginning. Now there are more blockchains and platforms out there, and I am curious to see how tech is evolving and how this might help someone like myself to tokenize art in an improved way. If that exists yet, I do not know.

Me: Do you have any thoughts about rights or copyright in digital/crypto art?

Coldie: I believe there are many ways to create art and that copyright is still important to art making, especially if we are to respect other artists’ value they created in the first place. I have had my work ripped off, and I can tell you it doesn't feel good. I choose to honor this and pay if forward by not perpetuating this issue.

Me: What inspired you to begin creating crypto art, and can you list any influences on your work?

Coldie: When I learned about crypto in general, I searched google for "blockchain art" and that opened the rabbit hole. I wanted to make art that was a visual representation of the emerging paradigm we are all taking part in. My influences include Robert Rauschenberg, Warhol, Kandinsky, DADA, Storm Thorgerson.

Me: Are there any other artists working in the same sphere as you right now that you would recommend?

Coldie: Matt Kane, Osinachi, Fewocious, Frenetik Void, Josie, Twisted Vacancy, and MANY MANY MANY MORE.

Me: Could you list some of the hardware or software tools that you use?

Coldie: Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects, Blender, DIY dual lens DSLR camera for 3D concert photography.

Me: Can you talk about the advantages and disadvantages of digital/crypto art as opposed to physical art?

Coldie: The advantages are it doesn't take up space and you don’t have to worry about the elements (fire, water, etc) or theft or damage in general. Also physical art is hard to ship and costs a lot when you sell it. As for disadvantages, it’s just different, not tangible like paper.

Me: Do you have any advice for artists as to why they should tokenise their art and how to begin doing it?

Coldie: Make art because you want to. Do something that makes you proud. Find a platform (there are MANY) and tokenize!

Me: Why should people buy digital/crypto art?

Coldie: Because we are in a special time in life, and art leads those trends. Because you love the art itself. Because you want something to look at and remember where you are at this point in your life. Because it helps an artist to be able to make their next piece.


Check out Coldie’s website or Twitter here:

https://coldie3d.com/
https://twitter.com/coldie


Also my NFT Showroom gallery is here:

https://nftshowroom.com/almightymelon/gallery

Sort:  

@almightymelon curious your thoughts on NFTs on Wax. It's the first time I have seen that a person can create an NFT with 0 crypto, and sign up with an account with social.

I wonder if it will lead to an overcrowded market, or mass adoption, or just a little wave. If you are on there, would be interested to hear your experience VS other crypto markets also.

Wrote about it here

excellent, i have upvoted you and re-hived this!

Really appreciate it. Thanks so much.

Congratulations @almightymelon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Congratulations @almightymelon! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day