Mater and Pater - NFT gifts for my dad's birthday and Mother's Day.

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Hello, everyone.

When thinking about gifts for my father, who turned 81 today, and for my mother for Mother's Day here in New Zealand, which is tomorrow, I decided to make them a matching pair of NFT artworks, and to create them wallets containing the art for their gifts.

Here are the two pieces, entitled 'Mater' and 'Pater', which mean 'mother' and 'father' in Latin.


MaterThumb.jpg


PaterThumb.jpg


I used pencil and a stencil, then acrylic and a wide brush, then a digital photograph. Then I eye-droppered the labels on the paint tubes and filled in the letters with these colours. I removed the paper background, leaving transparency.

I took a photograph of a page of T.S. Eliot. I enlarged the letters. The effect is that I have painted over the top of a first edition copy of "Little Gidding".

Three editions of each were made: one of each for Mum, one of each for Dad, one of each for me.

I'm not sure what I'll do with my copies. At the moment these are not for sale.

I used a phone camera and GIMP.

Thanks for taking a look.


A link to my NFTshowroom gallery is below:

https://nftshowroom.com/almightymelon/gallery