Churchill - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt4 years ago



For an old guy Churchill didn't really have a very iconic face and so it was difficult to carve a likeness. As I said in my previous post making portraits is not my forte, it takes too much time looking at flat source material and then trying to translate it into the 3rd dimension. I like to carve more freely and let the sculpture be itself. With Winston the head had to be 2.5 Dimension as to not be so heavy it would collapse and as I mentioned above he really didn't have any stand out features except for that a bowler hat but of course in sand that rim wouldn't have lasted too long so, I had to skip that.
The Muppet who is now in charge of England would probably have been much easier to carve. With his floppy hair and near caricatured face.




This piece was made also in Westen Supermare as part of the 2010 sand sculpture project.

The sculpture was quite big, as you can see from this image. That is one of England's famous female basketball players standing in for a photo. OK, maybe it wasn't that big but it was a lot of area to cover in the 4 days I had to work on it.

Having the big hand making the V gesture did help with telling the audience who the guy was, otherwise it would have just looked like I had carved some nondescript geezer giant in a landscape.



Those magnificent men and their flying machines

The reason for the landscape was that I was also asked add some famous English planes into the composition. Again this was a montage sculpture of different, none connected elements so I did my best to connect them.
I made four planes, much like the flying duck ornaments that were famous in England as a wall decoration. The planes from the left were Biggles biplane, The spitfire (Some connection to Churchill), the Harrier Jump jet and of course, Concord. All really amazing planes in their day and a credit to English aviation.



So that is all I have to say about this one. It was nice enough, considering...





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Hitchcockian - sand sculpture

Castlecomer mines - sand sculpture

Super Sized Nativity - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

It's funny, I never really thought about it before, but now you mention it, Churchill was rather non-descript without his hat. I'm not sure I'd even recognise him in a photo without it!

 4 years ago  

It is very true. If I was to make him again the hat would be a must.

Truly wonderful @ammonite and perhaps much needed considering the statue in the UK that was unfortunately one of the things caught in the cross fire of our current unsettled world.

 4 years ago  

I only saw this story now that there are calls to pull down a statue of Churchill in England. It was a complete coincidence that I post about this sculpture today.

The whole thing about breaking down statues I have a problem with. Remember the outrage around the world when the Taliban blew up those statues of the Buddhas or of Isis smashing all the ancient sculptures in museums because they found them offensive to their religion. I wonder how many of these protesters supported that. It is wiping out of history that I have an issue with, even if it was good or bad we should remember and learn from it.

Of course giving these sculptures pride of place in public areas can be insensitive and should be addressed but it's destruction can lead to a battle of who is the most woke and then history is gone.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Did you deliberately frame it so the house would fit perfectly on top when you took a photo from that angle? XD and why did they need such big posts with high ropes for the barricades? Normal sized people might not even have noticed them ;D

I'm guessing the plane wings wouldn't have lasted if you'd angled them in perspective? I love how they look, like a cute picture book XD

 4 years ago  

No, that was the way the sand was compacted but it did look nice in the photo.
You are really getting to know why I have to do thing a certain way in sand sculpture. The wings may have last a while but with the next rain all would be gone. As I may have mentioned before sculpting sand is as much about structural design as it is about aesthetics.

Nice one!! Thanks for coming back again!! If it was too easy, it would be no fun for you 😉

And yes, we're not having a great time with statues recently...

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 12/18)

 4 years ago  

Hopefully I can return again to Westen when all this covid thing is gone. It has great sand and is a beautiful little town, when the weather is nice.
In Ireland we are also starting to question our statues.

You know, its a long time since I've heard any one say anything nice about Weston 😊

Would love to see you at work one day!

 4 years ago  

Hopefully next year we can make that happen.

Churchill would be proud😊

 4 years ago  

I'm really not sure he would have but thanks. Not one of my better pieces.

 4 years ago  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!