Lisa's folly - Wood sculpture

in OnChainArtlast year



I have a friend called Lisa, who comes to me every now and then with a crazy idea and asks if I can I make it a reality. I love these types of projects as they get me thinking and force me to try something new. She usually has some sort of a concept but I will need to flesh it out and bring it into being. This time she asked for a treehouse-like structure in her garden where she could enjoy a glass of wine in the evening alone or with friends.

She had seen something similar at a music festival and loved the space it created. She had some pictures and although it looked like it would be nice for a short festival I would have to redesign and reengineer it to make it more of a permanent structure.



The construction was simple enough but it took me some time to work out how to engineer it to make it safe and strong. With this post, I just wanted to talk in general about the structure but in my next one, I will do a making of so that you can make one for yourself if you so desire. Give me a follow so it will show up in your feed. I will post that to the Build community. (excuse the unabashed self-promotion, Like and subscribe)



What I loved most about this thing was the fact that it was entirely a flight of fancy. Even its location was odd, in a clearing at the end of her garden beside a chicken coup. It was like it had just appeared there out of nowhere. Some kind of alien structure.



Most of it was made with just a saw and a screw gun and the material was pressure-treated timber. All very simple but after putting it together and sitting inside on the internal benches I could see and feel what had pushed Lisa to ask me to make it. It was like your own little world. Playful and serene, a secret space to call your own. To see the light and shadows being cast through the latted walls was really quite special.



The ceiling created a nice vaulted effect which felt like you were in a log cabin. Although the air and wind could flow through the structure and the outside world was quite visible, From the outside, you were hidden in shadows.

A fun little project. Join me next time when I share the design and how to make it.




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Emulating Aardman - modelling clay sculpture

Iglu-Dorf USA - snow sculpture

Purple haze - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

I am also starting to create NFTs of my sculptures and welcome you to my gallery where you can own a bit of ephemeral sculpture history.

Sort:  

It is a cute little space. Everyone needs a cubby or treehouse or some equivalent 😆

Outstanding work!

Simpply perfect! I loved your work!
My warm regards!🌹❤🌹


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ammonite ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.