My introduction to sand raking - Foot prints - sand raking

in OnChainArt4 years ago



I can't believe that it took me until 2010 to try my hand at sand raking. Having worked with sand for well over 14 years how I never just got a rake and started doing designs on the beach I'll never know. It is so much less work than compacting sand and then carving it and you can work as big as the tide and canvas will allow.

Of course 2010 was a few years before camera drones became available and the only way to see your work was to have some high vantage point close by.

I had already done a lot of sand sculptures in 2010 and was looking for a change of approach to shake things up for myself. When approached by a tourist board in Bundoran, county Donegal, Ireland to do something on Tullan strand I gave them the options in sculpture but the time I had to work on the massive beach would hardly cause a dint so I suggested that I do some sand raking designs. Of course first I would have to work out how to do it and as sand rakers, like crop circlers are very secretive about their techniques I had to invent my own and learn by trial and error.



Experiment 1, (but first, a tangent)

A few years previously I had tried to make some crop circles. I know, I know you thought that the were made by aliens but in fact they are usually the work of some artists and bored farmers, I say usually because some are obviously made by being not of this planet.



I had a girlfriend at the time and she always took holiday photos with her feet in the shot to prove that she was actually there. She went for a holiday to Australia and in the time she was away I got thinking of a nice way to welcome her home.

Living not too far from the airport I set out one evening with my nephew as an assistant to a large field that I knew was in the path of the landing planes. We flattened out a large footprint in the corn. (Now, I know this was a bit destructive but when I checked the field after harvest all of the corn that we had flattened was also picked up so I could sleep soundly again knowing that no damage was really done).

Unfortunately, because I can't fly I never could make out if we did a good job or not but I messaged my girlfriend and told her she had to sit on the port side of the plane and look out for something as she landed. When I picked her up from the airport, to my amazement and her joy, she said she could see it, a large footprint especially for her. She was ecstatic. As I'm sure you can guess I scored that night.



Anyway, back at the beach I had resolved my technique of marking out a quick footprint using some string and a few poles and re visited my idea as my first foray into sand raking but I wanted to do many and bigger as if they were the footprints of some giant that had gone for a stroll along the long beach.
Each print was 30 meters long and we had achieved 3 of them by the time the tide was coming back in. OK not too impressive but You live and learn.

I did have another assistant nephew on hand but the area of raking was just too big and tide was just too fast for us.
I thought the concept was great and with some more planning and more hands I will definitely do it again one day. And now with amazing drones available to any village idiot like me it could lead to some fantastic footage.





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Mother Earth - sand sculpture

Mermaid - sand sculpture

Stargate - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

soles of the feet, look simple, but you display with special. trivial things that are rarely thought of by many people. I really like things like this, and very interesting stories.

By the way, is your girlfriend, who is on the plane, your wife now ???

sorry, if i want to know.

 4 years ago  

Thanks dedogobelz. Very simple things often read much better. Thank you for taking the time to read my stories. The girlfriend in my post was a very short relationship that we both decided wasn't going anywhere. She was a lovely person but not the one for me. That was in 2005 and I met my wife in 2009. I like that you asked as I may update the post to say that.

Really cool work. Was it easy to tell what it was when you where stood near it?

 4 years ago  

Thanks @g-race-e. Yes you could see what it was but I'm sure it looked so much better from above.

I never understand why people need to feel exclusive and special XD

Ahh well seems like you figured some raking stuff out anyway and aside from looking like a vector drawing on a raster background it looks so cool. Impressed you got three out XD Maybe should have done them a bit higher so you had slightly longer before the tide happened? :)

Have you done any more rakes since?

 4 years ago  

I think she deserved to feel special for a moment, we did break up some afterwards but it was the most amicable breakup imaginable. We realised we just weren't into each other in that way.

For sure I should have made them higher on the beach. It is an important lesson to learn

Trying to break things down into simple shapes is the best way to do sand raking. For this just different circles centered at different points. I have done some more and plan do do many more once I can get a drone.

Other techniques I use are using a grid and a center line with north and south marks from it.

Ooo I think you could do amazing art like this too! A drone would be of great help! Doing a Hive logo on sand would be cool.

 4 years ago  

That is a nice idea to do the Hive Logo. I really need to get myself a drone.

It would be awesome!

That is very cool! I just watched this segment again the other day about a guy that makes labyrinths at an Oregon beach.

https://www.opb.org/artsandlife/series/summer-series/bandon-oregon-beach-sand-labyrinths-things-to-do/

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much that video was very inspiring. I really need to do more sand raking. I have to get myself a drone so I can document.

 4 years ago  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #884.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: