Showcase Sunday - The Duncannon colection 1999 to 2004

in OnChainArt4 years ago

It has been a crazy month in the @ammonite household. My wife has been doing exams for her teacher training course and I have been kept very busy taking care of our son and doing the house work. I haven't been able to work due to lack of childcare and not earning for a month means I have to make it a busy August. It has also meant I haven't been posting as much as I would have liked and so continues my consistent inconsistency.

I'm here today with my Showcase Sunday post where I gather some old posts together to give them a second viewing.

It is always nice for me to create a sculpture in my own country and the first place I was able to start a yearly event was in Duncannon, County Wexford. It is a beautiful picturesque village on the Hook peninsula. A local man, Brendan Power asked Fergus Mulvany and myself down in 1999 to make a sculpture on the beach for a cockle shell festival and it has grown since then to becoming a sand sculpture festival instead.
So for today I want to present my sculpture work from there from 1999 to 2004.
You can click the images to be brought to the main post.



Ship wreck wrecked

Our first time there and we started with high expectations, we were to carve during the Cockle Shell festival over three days. Unfortunately some Blaggards decided to destroy our sculpture so, we had to start again on the last day and throw something much smaller together. This wasn't the best start but already the village could see the potential.



Sea tales

On our second year the village community was able to gather some funding because of the Millennium and we were able to fly in a few of our friends from Europe to help us create something bigger, We also had a tent on the beach to protect the sculpture from the local riff raff and weather.



Spider baby

This year was scaled back again due to lack of funding so just Niall, Fergus and myself were to blame for this crazy piece. A more solid tent structure was built as they thought renting the tent each year would be a waste of money. Our sculpture was based on a mythical myth about a spider baby, Father Ted fans may get the reference.



Reflections of a mermaid

We were able to bring my good friend @stijgerart over this year and it was loads of fun. The sculpture was pretty small but I liked the concept.



A very brief history of sculpture

More funds were found for this year and it allowed us to bring back more of our friends. They seemed to love the Irish hospitality. Fergus and I were installing a permanent sculpture in the town and so my addition to this sand sculpture was pretty small.



Duncannon miniature

This year we decided to forgo the process of compacting the sand and instead just carve for the few days we had. We made a little model of the village which the locals loved and It was a nice team of Just @stijgerart, Edith Van Der Wetering and myself. I love working with these guys.

That's it for this week. Hopefully I can now start getting more posts written as my life returns to this new normal. My wife thinks she passed her exams, which is good, lets hope it leads to a good job so I can be a kept man.
Have a great Sunday
@ammonite

Sort:  

I think I remember some of these!

I don't get why people feel a need to trample sand thingies (or deliberately destroy anything really), sure it might feel satisfying or be "fun" but it's such a pathetic loser thing to do.

Addendum: this only applies to destroying other people's thingies, if you're destroying your own that's fine XD

I love the aerial view one at the end XD

 4 years ago  

Over the many years I have had several sculptures trashed in the night. I really think it is these peoples way of proving they exist. like dogs peeing on a corner to show that it is their territory. You will have to forgive me if my philosophy on this is not really worked out, to be honest I can understand this mentality.
!ENGAGE20

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Good job again! I am sure you will make up for it in august.

 4 years ago  

I will have to, I have several projects waiting to be done.
!ENGAGE20

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.