Showcase Sunday - The Zeebruggee Collection

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hello and welcome to Showcase Sunday where I share some old posts from my past. This week I wanted to share the sculptures I did in Zeebruggee, Belgium. This was a large project which ran from 1997 to 2004 and I was there 7 times only missing the first year.

As a project it was always fun and because it was in my first years of carving the quality of my work at times left a bit to be desired but each has a story which I hope will make up for it.

As always you can click the image to be taken to the original post.



European Art

In these early days of sand sculpture the compositions were really only a big collage of stuff and among all of it I did my few bits and pieces. I was still learning to carve, actually I still am and even though there was no payment I was starting to learn the skills of a sand sculptor and began making some lifelong friends.



The Roman Empire

The composition was a bit better this time and even though I only did a very small piece I think I was starting to develop my own little style of pushing the material to it's limits. It was also the year of the total eclipse of the sun in Europe and I traveled with two friend fromm 4 o clock the previous morning to get a front row seat.



Africa

This was my favourite sculpture in Zeebruggee because it all had a similar scale and read as one piece even with all the different parts. It was the first year I was getting paid for my work and I was willing to give the money back if the risks my team took ended in disaster, they didn't and the results were quite impressive.



Dinosaurs

Nothing here really made sense but I enjoyed my little sculpture of some dinotourists. I had a new Belgium girlfriend on my mind and apart from that nothing else really did have to make sense.



Atlantis

Not a very memorable year. Something to do with octopusses trying to dip their quills in an ink pot temple. That's my story and I am sticking to it.



The black death

Let's hope this new plague that is going around won't be as bad as the last ones. I was asked to help illustrate the black death in this sculpture and well you really have to have a bit of a sense of humor when you are dealing with such a sad topic.



Hollywood

The last year of Zeebruggee and under new management. This was such a fun project and we were treated like the stars would would have loved to be. My main piece was a rendition of the Matrix using some bullet time sculpting. It was a perfect ending to a yearly project where I had learned so much and met so many great people.

So that is it for this week. For me it is nice to be able to share these again. and also a nice way of cataloging my posts.
Have a great Sunday
@ammonite

Sort:  

Wow.....!!

 4 years ago  

Thank you Clare.

Jeez I've missed a lot, the only one I recognised out of there was the black plague one.

 4 years ago  

I think I have documented around 120 sand sculptures up to now and I am doing 2010 so a good few more to come. I forgive you for missing a few.

Incredible. I'm hyper impressed by your work my friend.