Untitled - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt4 years ago



A couple of posts back I documented a sculpture Niall Magee and myself made in Castlecomer, County Kilkenny. We made it in May of 2010 and at the end of that post I said in my best Terminator voice 'I'll be back' Well, I'm back...This time in the company of Alan Magee and we were there to make another small sculpture with a free theme in August of that same year.

The previous sculpture had survived pretty well through the summer with only some mild damage around the base from animals walking through. This really proved to me that we had discovered the best sand in Ireland to carve and we would for future projects ask Earl (The owner of the quarry) to deliver it to us when possible. Knowing the sand you have before you carve can take away alot of uncertainty.



This time, Alan and I decided we would push the sand a little further to see what it could really do when it came to structure. We knew it was good for detail but for strength the jury was still out. So, we wanted to design something to test how far it could be undercut and cut through. These are technical terms in the biz for bit's hanging out and holes.

It was nice also to go a bit more experimental with the design and just create some interesting forms with no obvious meaning or concept. just like a big sand doodle.



What does it all mean?

I won't explain what it was, your interpretation is as good as mine. Let's say it was 'A holey globe in a globe holder with another holey globe screwed on top'. Nice title?

Again I was impressed with the fineness of the sand and how silky smooth it was to carve. The strength was also great and to be honest looking at the images now I think we could have pushed it further, with more air coming through and we also could have undercut the globe completely.



It was a fun piece to make and a nice contrast to the miner and dinosaur we had made before.

Another shyster

As a little side note, If you have read my previous post you may remember that I talked about a gallery owner that was the one who actually commissioned us to do the work in Castlecomer. I had said that he was a nasty piece of work and would never make my Chirstmas card list. Even though we fulfilled our side of the bargain he never paid us in full for the job. Earl, the owner of the location had paid him but he never passed the money on. We chased him for a year or two then gave up. I won't name him here but if you are an artist and hear from the Carysfort gallery in Blackrock, steer clear.
Hasta la vista.... Baby





Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

The Wizard of Oz- sand sculpture

Surfer - sand raking

My introduction to sand raking - Foot prints - sand raking

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

These are another amazing!!!

 4 years ago  

Thank you @serypov

Muy buenas fotografias, referentes a las esculturas son fenomenales. gracias por compartir.

 4 years ago  

Muchas gracias.

The unicorn globe! I love it! Sorry to hear about the incident with not getting paid. Putting it behind you is for the best.

 4 years ago  

That is a much better title, Thank you.
Incidents like not getting paid can be a great lesson to learn about being careful who you work for. There have been a few times that this has happened but most organisers are great.

We learn as we go, experience is always a pile of good and bad.

 4 years ago  

Very true. And I think we learn more from our failures than from our successes.
I always cringe at some of my early work and feel slightly embarrassed showing it but ever piece is like a bread crumb carrying the overall story along.

Failures are a tough lesson. But we would not be what we are now if it wouldn't be for them

1 !BEER Token for you

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 24 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to hive-engine.com

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #891.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: