You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Arsenic Lullaby Consensus2021 FINAL PIECE and more great NF artists to see!

in OnChainArt3 years ago

@steevc ...let's compare the resources used with me minting any number of editions of an nft with me putting the same work out in physical form- AN INDUSTRIAL PRINTING PRESS RUNS FOR SEVERAL HOURS, it is then boxed and shipped to a distributor, who then ships it to a store, that the customer has to travel to...and back. add to that the paper mills making paper (with trees) and shipping it, the ink being made, the boxes being made (out of trees)and shipped.

I'm not even going to get into the resources used in the logistics of getting a piece of fine art from point A to point B or the resources used by art galleries...creating and fabricating the peripherals for exhibits, removing exhibits, powering large expensive displays.

I have been in the art and publishing industry for two decades, Steve. Me minting an nft is about 0.000001% of the resources/energy used o make a physical edition of something.

The carbon foot print of you buying an nft is NOTHING, compared to the carbon footprint of you buying the same thing in physical form.

as for the "The concept of ownership is changed when items are digital and infinitely copyable." It is not "copyable" actually, any more than me copying all the zero's and ones in a bitcoin, gives me a bitcoin.
it is the art as witnessed by the blockchain that is an NFT.

I have gone over this more in depth in the past. You might, if you're interested, scroll through my previous blogs explaining what an NFT is. If the concept seems muddled to you, those should help.

Sort:  

It's not a black and white issue. I was just pointing out some concerns people have with NFTs. I am not against them if they help artists. A lot of them will be for purely digital art. There are ongoing debates about the energy usage of blockchains. Elon Musk is getting involved, but the miners are going to use whatever optimises their profits. Hive is not so energy intensive as it does not use proof of work.

You can sell digital artworks without using NFTs, but they confer more exclusive ownership.

As I understand it what is on the blockchain is a sort of ownership certificate rather than the artwork itself as storing that much data there is not practical.

I get the concepts, but it is a much-hyped area right now. You seem to be a rare case in working with traditional materials to produce your work, but then animation is generally going to need digital, unless you resort to film.

I have issued my own NFT in the form of a song that can be bought in the Rising Star game. It is a limited edition and I can set my own price. I do not expect to make much from it though. My music is also on sale on Bandcamp, but I let people pay what they want. They get standard audio files, so there is nothing to stop them copying. People will pay anyway to support the artist with no need for NFTs, but they offer another option. I think it's great if you and others can earn from your work in this way.