Illustration of A Tree Swallow

in OnChainArt3 years ago

For this illustration, I was inspired by how shiny the tree swallow was. It felt like it would fit into the bird series I was illustrating, and it sure did! The illustration has the look of a postcard, which I really love, all in all, the process was fun!

image_6483441 (6).JPG

Process

Firstly I started with a sketch of the bird, which turned out to be one filled with trial and error. But was well worth it.

image_6483441 (1).JPG

Next, I worked on my line work. For this part, I wanted the illustration to have a comic style which is why I filled in a solid color in some areas. The outline didn't suit what I had in mind so I changed it to white.

image_6483441.JPG

For the following parts, I used a more detailed grain brush to apply my tones. I did this by each color. My focus was in capturing the glistening or shimmery look of the feathers of the bird.

image_6483441 (2).JPG

image_6483441 (3).JPG

image_6483441 (7).JPG

After the bird was finished, I went on the work on the background to my taste. Here I used the grain brush, the grain filter, a textured brush and some really cool fonts!

image_6483441 (5).JPG

image_6483441 (6).JPG

Hope you enjoyed viewing this piece : )

This artwork was created in Procreate
Here's a link to the reference used

https://pin.it/3tmvtCX
Here's another for if you'd like a print of the illustration
https://www.inprnt.com/gallery/artby.dara/shiny-bird/

Sort:  

The illustration is really good. You cleverly used pointillism in the illustration. Your choice of color fits the illustration well. However, there are one or two image in the blog that was not uploaded well, which result to the image's half is grey. !discovery 20

Oh I see, thank you so much for pointing it out, I had a feeling that might happen due to the image's file size. Thank you so much once again : )


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you!

I sent you a message on Instagram hoping you could respond. Thank you :)

Hey I've replied it! Thank you once again! : )

artbydara.jpg

Just leaving it out here so people know you're the real deal :D
Thanks for indulging.