Painting The Caribbean .. On A Cold Winter's Day

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Winter In The Caribbean - by B D Miller

01e45842aa9ce081b49c1b9008eb1da66e4f84fb83.jpg

It's A Cold Winter's Day ..

Here in the Southern part of New Jersey. Temperatures are just above freezing and the snowfall we received a week earlier is retreating. A thick band of crusty frozen precipitation lies along the banks of the lake, at the edge of our back yard. As I walk along it's edge, feeling the cold depth of the humid air, I am wishing for more than the bleak grey sunshine falling at my feet. The winters here are become more and more too hard to take.

0112bb900d995d0b0b3eb80a04d065c50d57a019e5.jpg

I Retreat Back Indoors.. Looking out my studio windows at a scene that resembles a black and white movie. A cold winter's tale of snow birds, hunting and searching for seed; slowly they fly just above the snow covering the ground and the light fog emanating from it. Like me, they are in a sort of winter's trance and looking for a trace of summer.

Changing Winter's Rhetoric ..

After a substantial lunch, I aim to change this dismal mood that surrounds me. I can not force the season along or increase the amount of sun shining from today's sky, but I can paint something. I can paint something bright, sunny and warm. I touched on this a few days ago, and said that all I needed was a little time to paint. I took some time today, on my day off, to paint.

Painting The Caribbean.. Is what I set out to do. Todays painting, was one hundred percent taken from memories drawn up within my mind. We have been fortunate and blessed enough to be able to travel to the Caribbean, so it is from these trips that I gather the inspiration I needed in order to create.

01e0aff568a215577eeab085efaa568428ade9463e.jpg

'Winter In The Caribbean' ..

The Painting Is Called 'Winter In The Caribbean'
I took the image in my mind, of a warm Caribbean winter's day, and painted it out over a small 5 X 7 inch piece of water color paper. Although I used water color paper, I did not use watercolor paint. Like today, sometimes I like to paint with oils on the rather tight, rough surface of watercolor paper. I like the way the nooks and cranny's of the paper collect the colors of the oil paint.

The Process ..

I Started With.. A 5X7 inch piece of watercolor paper and a pencil drawn horizon line. It would be from here that I would set out to paint my inspiration for warmer days, and try my best to retrieve some of those beautiful tropical memories.

011ca31f02e8dc831d38cd83cc09f6595597bd88c3.jpg

I then taped the paper to my workspace; the back side of the paper bundle. As you can tell, I have done this many times before.

01d6bd63619e774abcf70b69e9129005495922a137.jpg

I painting can start, I have to clean my mini glass palette of the old dried oil paint. Not a fun job but one that needs done.

1613422147625.png

Next I gather up the oil paints I think I will use. I ended up using all of the paints you will see in the photo. Even though I try not to push out more than I think I will use, I still manage to squeeze out too much.

1613422174953.png

For the first half of the painting.. I will use only one tool.. My finger. I LOVE to paint with my fingers. I can easily blend and move the color to the exact places I want to see it. It's as if the image in my mind finds it's way out, through my finger tips, to the surface of the paper.

01d3806529df4bbdb0a54eaf695747c8cf66e80e9b.jpg

01385caca0f95b88fc9a5871c752519d1b4e4673a8.jpg

0120a7f21fa00c1905fa312322c9ad6ebc7c55575a.jpg

01456fcd8feccfa133fa7928629faf700ebec86b45.jpg

018e674a1c53a9f486f7b0b7c2f1cdde34827ebd4c.jpg

It's Time For A Brush.. So next I grab a small, flat, stub of a brush that it very used (to say the least). I add a few details like a darker horizon line and movement in the tranquil, blue Caribbean waters. I love trying to paint clouds. I feel like it is hard to mess this part up. I may not have the technique down like a seasoned, educated artist, but I don't think my skies come out too bad in the end. On occasion, I look back and wish I left good enough alone. It's something I have been working on.

01942500b56d05505e998b5d11a169fdbc44fe09c5.jpg

In the next frames, you will see the progress of the sky and water. I continue to layer in the details within my imaginary scene.

01994c56be3d333589f6a874d106c863691a8f435f.jpg

01cf90c29bb639e6c7b26b2385af92e336614e6af6.jpg

013678db6c5a680dbca5bfce18fa8ab34300e7c993.jpg

After placing in a few last details, like highlights and shadows, I then use a ultra pine tip brush to paint in my signature. I carefully placed it into the bottom right hand side of the painting.

0107f3173d513e813f4434d556a4ff500f7c5cfe19.jpg

I think the painting is looking as good as I expected it to look. I am satisfied with my creation and happy that I was able to practice something that I love.. Painting. I carefully remove the tape that was holding it down, and then place the painting on a dark surface for a final photo.

It's funny how the color changes depending on the background tone.. as you can see here

0165ea797893531dd804bf3f23362c918ed3013596.jpg

The Finished Painting!!

'Winter In The Caribbean'

01e45842aa9ce081b49c1b9008eb1da66e4f84fb83.jpg

Here is a summary photo of the entire process..

1613422017226.png

I may end up framing this one someday, after it dries. Or maybe I won't, but either way below are a few ideas that could look good if I decide to frame it. Once I can add a mat to the piece it will look a whole lot better in a frame.

1613422259067.png

The only thing left to do is clean up my brushes and place the painting in a safe place to dry. In case you are a painter, and are wondering, I have been using (and really like) "The Masters" Brush Cleaner. It does a great job at cleaning the brushes of oil residues and keeps them in good shape without the use of harsh thinners.

01767ab5e4f888d54af72980d1a4cb5f34201ab32a.jpg

I Set My Small Caribbean Memory.. just below another larger painting, of the same theme, I have been neglecting to work on. That is another story for another day. Maybe I will get to work on finishing it up and make it a real story worth blogging about. For now it will remain in progress.

0140ffea1d3657e24b3757ce4c617bcb8c8d530b89.jpg

For what it's worth.. I feel much warmer and happier now that I have created something!

01e0aff568a215577eeab085efaa568428ade9463e 2.jpg

Hive text divider.png

IMG_0222.JPG

“He would always be around you, not in these words or paintings, but in your heart. He will always be in happy memories. You can't cage his worth in few pages and colors.”
― Vidushi Gupta, The Unending Maze: Because Finding Your Way Out Has Never Been More Difficult

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Wow how wonderfully you create an authentic Painting from your mind, and it looks as it is painted from your dream. I also paint with fingers sometimes, and it is really feels warm and satisfying when you create with authenticity and love in this cold freezing temperature. I totally agree with you. Love your colors @bdmillergallery.

Thank you! 😊 Most of the things I end up painting come from memory or imagination. I like to paint from a picture, but tend to get frustrated if it's not exactly perfect. Thank you for the comment and the support!! I appreciate them both.

!ENGAGE 10

It is so creative that you paint from memory and imagination . Love your authenticity. Keep it up :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very nice! We just got hammered with four to six inches of snow last night. It feels a bit more like Winter now!

Oh I bet it does!! Hope you got that deck shoveled off, otherwise you'll be shoveling something else off there too. 😆 😊

Haha, I think my wife took care of that while I am at work. I get to tackle the driveway when I get home!

Oh fun.. hopefully its a short skinny driveway.

We actually just had it widened this past summer. I got a new snow blower though, so no worries!

Perfect! That will make it easier.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow! Very beautiful as if by magic! I have never seen how a painting is done!! Oh! I wish I could have some art lessons with you!

Lovely colours you have conjured up as if in a dream!

You and your words are too good for my self esteem .. lol. I appreciate the support and the kindness. I am a terrible teacher and still very much learning myself. I would most likely teach bad habits 😆

I too Love the Caribbean colors. Nothing like Caribbean blue waters!😁

I think you are too polite and kind! Your artistic ability is wonderful and unique. I have never seen a sea scenery painted in this way before! Love to try out under your tuition one day! My old friend just found out about her hidden artistic inclination. She has started doing painting without any lessons. She told me she just follow her feeling! I do envy her self-discovery.

Those blue green colours are very liberating!

Thanks so much for your kind attention and generosity.

Wishing you a very nice day!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for the tip!

That's a fantastic process you have! Loved watching that from beginning to end.

Thanks man! It's fun but hard to explain sometimes. Or I would think boring if your not an artist. I try to find other things to talk about that tie in the whole process. Maybe I over think it all.. lol 😆

Very nice seascape painting. I see you made use cool colors here.

I tried using only the best colors! hehe. Thanks man 😁

I like the palette of colours!

Thank you! I tried to use only the best ones 😁

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

Beautiful painting! Your dogs are very cute. ;)