The Punta Sur Coastline - and How Travel Inspired My Painting

in OnChainArt3 years ago

IMG_9500 2.JPG

It Started With A Vacation ..

A few years ago, we took a trip to the Cancun area of Mexico. We ended up staying in a nice resort just north of Cancun in an area called Playa Mujeres. On that trip we took a short ferry ride over to a small island called Isla Mujeres. We spent most of the day there riding around in a golf cart, eating, drinking, and enjoying the sights and the sun.

What a beautiful little island, or at least most of it was. There were a few sketchy run down, trash laden areas, but for the most part it was in the kind of shape you would expect a small, lightly populated island to be in. I won't share those pictures (trash and junk), because that is not where this post is heading.. I want to go in another direction. Let's focus on the Beautiful Coastline!

IMG_9553 2.JPG

The Caribbean Breaths Inspiration ..

For me, the Caribbean atmosphere, the Caribbean life .. The colors, the sounds, the smells and the culture .. provide me with plenty of inspiration. I soaked all of this stuff up while on holiday. During the cold and gloomy winter season, here in New Jersey, I like to relive these memories and sometimes even utilize them in creating art.

The ferry ride over from the Cancun area takes about an hour or so and is pretty cheap.. like $15 to 20 USD round trip. It's a nice ride. I like to sit out in the open if I can, because me and rocking boats don't always get along.

IMG_1207.JPG

When you step off the ferry, there are plenty of golf cart rental options to choose from. I recommend doing some research in advance though. We rented a golf cart for what amounted to approximately $45 USD for the day. Not too bad I don't think. It was fun cruising around the island in a slow vacation mode. It also makes parking a breeze pretty much anywhere you want to stop. I was respectful and always yielded to the locals or let them pass if needed.

IMG_9536.JPG

Like I said, most of the island is beautiful and there is no lack of places to stop and visit.. especially if you are in need of "Refreshment"! If you know what I mean. There are a lot of neat bars and restaurants, like this one below.. The Soggy Peso'.

1614109248815.png

I could go on and on about all these places and activities, but for this post, I wanted to share a few shots from Punta Sur. Punta Sur is at the Southern most tip of the island. See the Red arrow below.

8549843987598243798571439875.PNG

It is basically an ecological park with a lighthouse, sculptures, pathways, sculptures and beautiful cliffs overlooking the Caribbean blue ocean waters. Although it can become pretty hot here most days, I still find it's beauty inspirational.

IMG_9545.JPG
A small shack where you can give a donation to the park

IMG_9546.JPG
Above is an example of some of the sculptures you can find along the pathways.

IMG_9541 2.JPG
The lighthouse and some pathways. As you can see there is not a lot of shade.. and I like shade!

IMG_9553.JPG
Another angle looking at the lighthouse and the awesome coastline

On either side of the point, there are steps that lead down to toward the water and a beach or two. This is my favorite part, because it's cooler and there is always a lot to look at if you like looking at the details. There are a bunch of photo opportunities too!!

1614109483188.png
As you can see, I wore white to help limit my heat build up

Along this pathway we saw cool steps, plant life, animal life, lots of blue water! Caribbean blue waters!!!

1614109430472.png

The Caribbean Blue Waters are what todays post is really about, and what I really enjoyed at Punta Sur. As they crashed into the rocks, the salt water would spray up into the air in a misty white, contrasting against the deep bluish greens. If you are nimble eyed and quick, you could catch a glimpse of sea life scurrying here and there.

IMG_9551.JPG

Looking up the coast toward the Northeast, Is where this final shot was taken. The waves were a tad bit calmer on this side, allowing the greens in the water to really pop. The way the rocky coast meanders in and out of the water, and the way the waves play with its surface, was the true inspiration for my oil painting.

IMG_9535.JPG

My New Creation Called 'The Punta Sur Coastline'

I utilized the above photo for my inspiration. I wanted to paint a small 5 inch by 7 inch mixed media painting of the Punta Sur coastline. I wanted to try and capture a little of the feeling that I felt while we were exploring the coast. I think I managed to do just that.

I utilized both a watercolor base and then oil paint in order to capture the impressionistic image I had in my mind, that I wanted to apply to the paper. Like most of my works, this is NOT a perfect mirror image of the inspiration photo. I hate putting that kind of pressure on myself and there's no room for artistic interpretation, for me, when painting that way.

1614113401388.png

Below are the series of steps I took in order to arrive at the final piece. You'll see how I first used water color, then slowly applied layers of oil paint. After the bulk of the painting was finished, I then applied highlights with white paint and a signature in dark blue.

IMG_9489.JPG

IMG_9490.JPG

IMG_9491.JPG

IMG_9492.JPG

IMG_9493.JPG

IMG_9494.JPG

IMG_9495.JPG

IMG_9496.JPG

IMG_9497.JPG

The Summary Photo ..

Here is a summary photo to help, well, summarize the process. It's always nice to see the process all in one photo.

1614107417951.png

The Tools and Paint ..

Not everyone is interested in the tools and paints I use when creating, but here are the items I used (See photo's below). Just a few basic colors and tones, along with just a couple of brushes. Nothing to crazy for a small painting.

IMG_9532 2.JPG

IMG_9488.JPG

I finally broke out the new brushes and only used one of them for the watercolor portion of the painting. Sad I know :(

IMG_9487.JPG

'The Punta Sur Coastline' - An Original Painting By B D Miller ..

IMG_9500 2.JPG

Hive text divider.png

IMG_0996 2.JPG

“The sea, like a crinkled chart, spread to the horizon, and lapped the sharp outline of the coast, while the houses were white shells in a rounded grotto, pricked here and there by a great orange sun.”
― Daphne du Maurier, Rebecca

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Looks like an awesome trip. I actually would have guessed this was the New England coast if I hadn't read the title of the post. It reminds me a lot of Maine and Rhode Island. That was probably one of my most favorite trips ever as a kid. I have never been anywhere tropical besides Florida so I need to change that someday when things are a little less crazy in the world!

Yeah.. the Covid thing puts a damper in travel for sure. You HAVE to get there if you find the money and the time someday. I can see where you thought that this could be New England area. The water can be just as blue in those parts. Colder but still beautiful.

It is definitely on my bucket list!

With such a beautiful landscape, no wonder you got inspired. It's so serene, the shades of blue are lovely!
!ENGAGE 10

I know, right?! Amazing views and beauty every where I looked. Okay.. almost everywhere. Lol. There were a few run down spots but over all not bad. Thanks for the engage!

Beautiful painting ... ohhh to go back to Mexico . Lol

We are really considering another trip soon. We need to do something to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, so Maybe we'll see you there?!! 😁

Maybe ... I just got back from a trip ( drove for 12 hours ) ... the trip was fun , but I think it could have been better without Covid restrictions and masks...but unfortunately that’s the world we live in .. lol ... 20 years !!!!! Congratulations!!!! Mine would have been 20 in June....when do you make 20 ?

Hi @bdmillergallery , I was pleased to see so many beauties in your publication, I am lucky to have found it. I feel motivated by brush stroke when I saw your painting. Greetings

Your too good for my self esteem 😊 I appreciate all the support and compliments. It makes me smile every time I look at the pictures. Greetings to you too!

😁🙌🙋‍♂️

Lovely Photography of good moment of travels and also wonderful painting. It is always refreshing to travel those coastal area specially Caribbean area of Maxico. I have not got opportunity to travel there yet , but in future Hope to visit there someday. Good to see those wonderful pictures @bdmillergallery

Thank you for all those compliments! We had a great time and if you ever get the chance, go! 😊

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1126.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @ybanezkim26 😁 thanks for the support and curation. I'm a big fan of pinmapple!

Haha Mollys and Peppers hair flying in the wind...too funny 😍...and the Iguana (Iguana iguana) rocks, I would have tried to pet him lol. I love the Caribbean...and with it your paintings.

Haha.. yeah they tolerated the beach, but was not their favorite activity. Things moved weird down there.. or so they thought. lol.

I wasn't touching that lizzard.. did you notice he lost half his tail and started to grow it back??!! He's a BAD A$$. I'll let him alone.. hehehehe..

Thank you for the compliments!😁

Very nice! And so jealous of the fact vaccin would have sun and nice weather while here it’s raining a bit. Hope that the pepper depression is a bit better than last week, it’s normal I think when the dus are grey. I wish you two and molly a lovely cancun weekend

I need another Cancun vacation!!! 😫 haha. It's raining and cold here today, but our summer is coming soon. Thanks for stopping by and I hope your feeling okay. Hope your hospital trip went well.

Your painting captures the feeling of the area. How beautiful the water is that you have in this painting and in the pictures.

Oh my the water was amazing! If I could wake up to those views, I would be a happy man. Maybe in retirement. Maybe. Lol. Thanks for stopping by!

I have similar sentiments of wanting to live for the view that i wake and see each day, perhaps that will be what life will be in time. But to hold that view and walk away and know that some day one could go back seems all the more sweet of a treat to see.
Thanks for sharing your time with the world and letting me see through your eyes.

Well, the painting and the pictures are on spot. Very good job!

Thanks buddy! I really want to get back there now 😁

Take more pictures!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!! and no, I didn't know I had a personal map. That's cool!! 😁

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.