Learning Oil Paints

in OnChainArt3 years ago

A couple of months ago I started my journey learning to do oil painting. Mind you, I'm not getting any formal instruction so I've been getting by with the help of Youtube tutorials and intuition. I've managed to ring out some useful tips from the millions of YT videos but have mostly had to rely on my digital painting, hoping that some of the principles I learned there I good enough to get me started.

As you can see below, I've made some progress but not enough to do anything worth being pompous about. There were times I'd go into studying thinking I knew how and what to do or thinking I had learned a lesson from the previous painting and then miserably fail.


Starting from the top left to the last painting were done consecutively.

It's been like trying to pull teeth and extremely demanding. But I'm doing to let up. I have to keep getting at it.

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png

Anyway, If you'd like to see or purchase my work and support me, you can visit my socials and NFT shop linked below. Otherwise, leave a thumbs up or comment.

Bye-bye!!!



TryShowtime | Instagram | ArtStation | NFTShowroom | Creary


Untitled28_20210508194719.png



FireShot Capture 059 - ArtStation - Zakhele Prince Dube - www.artstation.com.jpg


Tools:

  • Huion Pen Tablet (Inspiroy H430P)
  • Dell Laptop
  • Adobe PhotoShop
  • Clip Studio Paint
Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

great work! We all start somewhere and I think you're off to an amazing start. Imo, oils are one of the hardest mediums to work with; so props to you for taking on that journey!! I have yet to dip a toe in oil for how tough it can be, and it seems very daunting. I very much admire oil painters for their patience in waiting on drying time ;)

 3 years ago  

Patience is probably the thing I struggled with the most because I come from a digital background and charcoal which are faster to work with.

totally! I work with acrylic, watercolors and pastels...Way way faster to work with. I love how forgiving acrylic can be, very unlike oil paint