Thasimar | Way Maker

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

Hello OCA Folk.

How have you been? January has been a hell of a month. It feels like we're in the 23th week of this bloody month.


Thasima border1450x1238JPG.jpg

Thasimar | Way Maker (NFT Available)

I've been feeling a little uninspired and stressed as of late and so I went back to doing a portrait (to produce just so I can eat). Also feeling kind of punctured by the virtually lacking amount of sales.


Process

I know I wanted to do painterly work from the beginning of the year and this little reversion is a form of not sticking to my "resolution". But I did achieve one important thing and that is working with color in a piece of work from scratch, which is something I don't do as often as I should.

As always, the sketch process was the easiest part of the work. One thing that I should have done was a couple of thumbnails. Maybe there is a version of this that looks better or sublime. It's too late now.

The modeling and rendering of color value and their shapes was really hard as always. It bothered me so much that I went out and bought some oil paint to start learning traditionally to work with color. It's my opinion that maybe I'm not so good with color because I haven't done any traditional work or, at the least, studies with it.

So expect some uploads of my oil catastrophes and I learn this new medium. If you have any advice on how to work with oils please feel free to leave a comment below on what helped you along the way, keep in mind, of course, that paid lessons aren't a viable option for me.


If you'd like to buy this and also support me while you're at it, you can get Thasimar | Way Maker (NFT) and other work on @NFTShowroom.

nftshowroomcomdeadsparrowgallery 4.png



Instagram | ArtStation | NFTShowroom | Creary

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png

Tools:

  • Samsung Tab SM-T805 (Ipad Pro Mini or a Wacom one in my wishlist)
  • Ibis PainterX Android
  • Infinite Painter Android
  • Clip Studio Paint


Thumbnail cover banner may 2020.png

Thank you for having a look at my wares. If you like what I'm about and doing, give me a little visit on my profile page, leave a comment, like and while you at it, hit that follow button and follow me not my instagram.

Studio_20200815_010548.png

Sort:  

Had a bit of a rough start to the year have you?

This version looks fine.

Colours are just a pain in the system because of how they and the materials they're on/made of bounce light around. This still looks okay (though the hat looks kind of heavy, does the character use it as a weapon?) to me despite your complaining :)

Good luck with the oil studies and hope your month improves!

 3 years ago  

I initially wanted to make the hat to double as a shield but decided against it.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @deadsparrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.
You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP