Painting with my best friend

in OnChainArt4 years ago

IMG_1452.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Cannabis and Painting is a magical combination

pageBreak.png

Yesterday I went to my dispensary and picked up some new cartridges and a new vape pen. I got a couple carts of Pineapple Muffin, which is an indica dominate hybrid strain. It gives a great relaxing and uplifting high.

IMG_1444.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

It is a great strain for a relaxing paint night. So my wife and I got our paints ready and I put on some relaxing Tibetan Singing Bowls songs. The bowls have a nice relaxing sound that is supposed to help with meditation.

IMG_1447.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

The paints are supposed to be black light reactive, so hopefully it all works and glows when the paint is dried.

IMG_1448.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Now I am not what some would consider an "artist" and I can't paint things that look like anything, but pour painting is how I paint. I try and have a vision of what the painting should look like in the end, but if you have any experience with pour painting, you know that it never ends up that way.

IMG_1449.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

To me, pour painting is all about letting go of the control and trying to guide the paint, but knowing you have no control over the outcome. This is something that is hard for me to do, and another reason I have wanted to paint while on cannabis, because I can finally get in the right state of mind and let go.

IMG_1451.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

The reflection of my light looked pretty cool and reminded me of an avocado. Maybe that is why I wanted to make salsa today.

IMG_1453.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

My goal with this when I started mixing in the different paints was to have a dark background and have a lot of color on top of it, but when I started putting in the white, it started to take over.

IMG_1454.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

The cool thing about pour painting is when the colors mix and layer, they create different cells as they open up. This can create some pretty cool looking effects in the painting.

IMG_1456.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I have a blow torch somewhere in the house that we got to shoot fire on the painting to help get rid of bubbles and increase the cells, but I couldn't find it anywhere.

IMG_1457.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

So this was my finished product after I was done moving the paint around. Over the next 30 mins or so, the paint continues to move around, so the final painting changes.

IMG_1458.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

My wife has a more thought out and careful approach to her painting.

IMG_1460.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

She wanted more bright colors in hers and didn't use any black.

IMG_1461.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

We thought it started to look like a jelly fish at this point, with the head being in the bottom right corner and the tentacle thingies spreading to the top left.

IMG_1469.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

This is my finished painting. Once the paint dries, then there won't be the reflection of the light in the painting. But I am pretty happy with how it came out. I added some silver and gold glitter in it that reflects light when it is dry.

IMG_1470.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

My wife's painting turned out really cool too. She added a lot of gold glitter in the corners of it.

While there really isn't an actual subject in these types of paintings, I like them because the style can brighten up a room based on the different colors that you use.

Do you have any experience with pour painting? If you do, share your favorite pour paintings in the comments so I can see them. I am looking forward to doing more of these and learning different techniques. Thank you for stopping by, you are awesome!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @derangedvisions, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wtf, it looks amazing. I have had many experiences with painting but the truth is that they are quite bad. When I was a kid I was more creative than I am now. And well, I'm terrible at painting. Excellent work.I would definitely hang that painting in the bathroom to travel to infinity.

Thanks homie. You should tap back into that childhood creativity. It has taken me a long time to become creative again. You should also look into pour painting. It is a lot easier than normal painting.

Very cool Painting. I love to read and work out when I’m stoned. Funny is I’m sure people that don’t know what’s up think you get stoned and you then get lazy lol

Ya. That is one common misconception about cannabis. People don't realize there are all sorts of strains that can help with so many things. I like to do yard work after I have smoked a bit. It helps allow me to focus and take my time with things instead of always stressing about every little thing.

Dude this turned out awesome! Is that your One Wheel charging in the background of the photo with your wife? hahaha Y'all both made some incredible art! I had never done pour painting but just looked it up to find a video to share i thought you might appreciate. i found a video similar but different...

It seems like a lot of people mix in the cups many or a few colors together to get more mixing as the setting is taking place. Here was a video that had a creative approach with a tool that most people can acquire or already have. You can skip to around the 5 minute mark to get there.... Happy painting and i like the center with the 3 connectors. Great photography as always!

I have been looking at a bunch of different techniques. I like the spiral technique and have been thinking of ripping up the carpet in our basement to make a painting and photo studio.

You should do that! I bet having that dedicated space would help set and keep the mood! I thought that pendelum technique would be cool to do as a base and then there was a galaxy looking video that might be cool with it or whatever really. I guess that's where the creativity comes in....

Ya, some people get super creative with these paintings.

Love the second painting with all the pastel colours. Seriously good enough to hang on a wall in my house

Your wife's paintings remind me of the bright colourful markings on tropical fish ive seen while diving in Vanuatu. Definitely takes me to a happy place.

That's awesome. I would love to go diving. I haven't done anything like that since I was snorkeling when I lived in Japan.

Japans on my bucket list

I loved Japan. I wouldn't mind visiting again, but it is super expensive.

Where'd you go when you were there?

I lived in Okinawa. It is a small island off the mainland.

Im familiar. Were you based there?

i haven't tried pour painting but it looks so fun, the way painting spontaneously create on its own is very exciting i sense a lot of freedom in the painting too

Posted using Dapplr

I always liked those kind of paintings but never knew how they were called or made. Now it's definitely on my bucket list to make at least one of those in the future. :D

👋 Hi @derangedvisions, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community