I am angry | Drawing 72-year-old Elmer Cordero

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

72-year-old Elmer Cordero only wanted the government to hear what he and five others had to say. Frail with deep-set eyes, he is a jeepney driver even given his old age. He had to forego old age and work his way to provide for himself and his family. But since the start of the government-imposed lockdown, he and a couple of other public utility vehicle drivers found themselves suddenly without source of livelihood.

And now they're hungry.

And their families are, too. So he and five other colleagues protested in the streets, making sure to follow quarantine regulations -- distancing and wearing of facemasks -- because they haven't received any of the cash assistance the government promised in the nearly three months of community quarantine. They wanted to be able to get back on the streets and drive for the public again,but you know what? Should the pandemic end, they have more to face.

The jeepney phaseout. But this post isn't about that. This is about a group of Filipinos who were voicing out their needs that they believe the government should listen to.

Only to be "invited" to the police station, and subsequently be filed with charges of disobedience (social distancing and mass gathering) and — get this — "resistance to persons in authority". They are hence called the Piston 6. More information can be read here.

They had to spend a week behind bars, because they were poor and couldn't afford bail. Kind-hearted people poured help to get them out, and today, 4 of 6 were freed.

72-year-old Elmer Cordero isn't one of them. He and one other had to be held back because of pending [old] cases attached to their names.

And that makes me sad! It makes me sad that he has to be detained longer. I remember a someone who was granted freedom because "she's too old to be detained — let's grant her old age some consideration." Or that someone left off the hook by saying her holding mass gathering was "an honest mistake."

But more than anything...

I am angry.


This specific event made me question a lot of things.

It is very well known in the whole of the Philippines that there were many well-known individuals who broke quarantine rules (the very rules the Piston 6 were put behind bars for), but were, well, given benefit of the doubt. And, uh, consideration, because they were apparently irreplaceable.

As if the Piston 6 aren't... right?

But well, this is it. I still have a lot to say, but I'll hold back.

For now.

I'm angry. And really, really sad. But at the same time, I'm still hopeful.

The drawings

These are quick sketches of Elmer Cordero. Reference used can be found in this tweet. I think Tatay Elmer is the face of Piston 6. I will never forget him and the circumstances surrounding this event.

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: pencil (at varying opacity settings)

I think I cried enough while drawing these. But I need to put to action all my heartbreaks for the likes of Tatay Elmer and the rest of Piston 6. The past few weeks, I'd been donating to Para! Kay Manong, a campaign that aims to help jobless jeepney and tricycle drivers (like Tatay Elmer) in the midst of this ongoing pandemic. I vow to continue, and give this the best I can.

Sort:  

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 21000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is really sad. I cried while reading this post. 😢

...pretty cool sketching!

 4 years ago  

thank you! :)