[Timelapse] Lovesick Rosé | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

One month ago, I drew BLACKPINK's Jisoo. It was a spontaneous decision that ended up becoming something I wanted to do to celebrate the group's then comeback song, Ice Cream, which featured Selena Gomez. The song was a bop, and it definitely represented the pink to BLACKPINK's concepts.

Two days ago, BLACKPINK came back again not only with just a song, but with their first full-length album, too. The third single they released from their album, THE ALBUM, was called Lovesick Girls.

To say that I caught the ear worm yet again is an understatement.

Lovesick Rosé

Born in New Zealand, raised in Australia, and Korean by blood, Rosé is one of the members of BLACKPINK. She's a wonderful singer who gets all the highs and makes my heart shake. In Lovesick Girls, she stands out to me the most.

Like last month's Jisoo drawing, I wasn't meaning to draw anything BLACKPINK related today. However, a BLACKPINK post crossed my Instagram newsfeed, and I ended up finding this particular pub mat that would then be my reference.

Drawing Lovesick Rosé

I'm not exactly proud of the output, but I'll take it. The drawing still slightly resembles Rosé or I'd like to believe that. Haha! For a "lovesick girl", Rosé sure looks fancy.

As per usual, I did a quick rough sketch before drawing a cleaner one on a separate layer. I think the rough sketching is always my favorite part of drawing. It allows me to just draw in complete abandon and think about semblance and accuracy at a later point. Meanwhile, cleaning the base sketch is therapeutic in a way, because all you'd want to do is focus and get your lines right.

Adding all base colors wasn't really an exciting endeavor. It always found a way to make me wish time would speed up the same way my timelapse videos did. But base colors are important because they were where I clipped the detailed color layers to.

My favorite part in this drawing was the hand. I wouldn't be caught saying that if I were the same Erang from 5 years ago, because I used to hate drawing hands, let alone coloring them. The hand here turned out really nicely, and I am proud of it!

Of course, if there was a favorite part, there surely was a least favorite. Hands-down I hated the chains. Like, no. I didn't want to draw them but I had to. In true Erang fashion, winged it, even when it looked atrocious. Just please... don't focus on that? Hahaha!

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); pen (100% opacity); blur

Timelapse

Here's a timelapse video that spans the whole process -- from messy sketches down to the coloring. Somewhere in the middle of drawing I got distracted for a while, and when I returned forgot to record. It was unnoticeable, I think, so enjoy!

Music is by MRIR on Youtube, and is the instrumental cover of BLACKPINK's Lovesick Girls.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

Notes

I won't be removing this cute little white dough-fluffy tofu picture for a while, simply because it looks adorable.

Drawing Rosé was fun, mostly because I'd been listening to BLACKPINK songs while drawing, and singing along with the wrong lyrics. One of my friends from work suddenly got into South Korean pop song groups, drama series, movies, and actors. She was the kind who vehemently denied any K-related media because she'd get addicted, and I think she had the right reasons because she was now really addicted.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Ahhhhhhhh i love it,very nice work <3

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! ❤️

Oh wow, my favorite Rose!! ❤️

 4 years ago  

i always change favorites, but she's my favorite in lovesick girls! hahaha! ❤️

Awesome just followed you too😊

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! that means a lot!🤗