San | A Princess Mononoke Fan Art

in OnChainArt4 years ago

My initial and main reason for getting into drawing was because I wanted to do fan arts. I like imagining different scenarios of books, movies, and most importantly, anime. Then I want to turn these imaginations to something more visual.

The last time I drew an anime fan art was June, in celebration of the completion of the manga, Demon Slayer. The fan art was of Shinobu Kocho. I realized that I really do love drawing anime and wanted to create more fan arts. At the time, I was watching Princess Mononoke for the very first time.

I said before that I finally had a "formula" when drawing with MediBang Paint for Android, but for this work, I deviated.

And it was uncomfortable.

Drawing San

San, also known as the titular Princess Mononoke, was a wolf girl. She acts like one for she was raised by and lived with wolves.

At first, I wanted to do a draw this in your style (DTIYS). I ended up with a sketch based on a certain scene from the movie, then I completely forgot about it until a few weeks later, when I really wanted to draw an anime fan art.

The second time around, I went with something that is true to anime style. And something that didn't have reference. But it looked weird, because I'm not really one to draw something dynamic. I was about to fix it though, but while looking through Pinterest for references, I found a fan art that looked so similar to what I had sketched. So I canned the second attempt.

The third and last time (which was literally last night), I decided I wanted something simple, like the first one. This had no reference except for, well, the Princess Mononoke character, and I'm not even sure it resembled one like her. But I liked it in the end!

Lines

I had recently come across the artist Marc Brunet on Youtube, and I loved his tutorials! Perhaps it had to do with how he has such a good talking voice. I bumped into his video How to color your drawings (in any software), and I was intrigued!

I wondered if his tutorial would work on mobile apps, and I had to try. This Princess Mononoke fan art was the perfect opportunity to try, I thought.

Brunet listed down 6 steps:

  • lines
  • flat colors
  • shading
  • tint/reflections
  • lights
  • polish

He made it a point to say that the lines should look a little clean, and my initial sketches definitely weren't. So I drew again for something cleaner.

Flat colors and shading

In another layer below the lineart, I started laying down the flat colors. It was easy, because San had very uniform colors (if that makes sense).

Still following through Brunet's tutorial, I duplicated the flat colors layer and turned the whole layer white. I did this in MediBang by adjusting the brightness all the way to the maximum, and the saturation to the minimum. Then I changed the blending to multiply.

Then the challenging thing came: the shading. He was so good at it! He said that there was nothing wrong in using black for shading, so that's what I did. Kinda.

It was difficult, and I had to cheat my way by changing opacity. I'll make it a point to visit Brunet's shading tutorial one of these days.

Tint/reflections, lights, and polish

At this point, I was so confused. I felt like the video sped up way too much and I couldn't follow through. So yup, the tint/reflections and lights part?

Winged it. Till I somewhat make it.

On the other hand, I tried to put a lot of effort into the polish part. I was dying to scrap the whole thing halfway through (during the shading part), but I really felt bad about the effort. I was actually recording the whole thing but had to scrap the video because there were way too many bloopers, editing will be such a drag.

Finally, I edited the colors using Snapseed again.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); airbrush; blur

Notes

Aaand that's it. I think I'd enjoy doing the steps Marc Brunet laid down if were working on desktop versions of drawing apps, like Photoshop. But that's just a maybe, because I now know I really suck at shading.

For someone who loves watching Studio Ghibli films, I sure miss out on a lot. If you do watch Studio Ghibli films, what's your favorite?



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 24/32)

 4 years ago  

thank you! 🧡

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Hurricane Rider 🌪 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 4 years ago  

thank you! 🧡

👋 Hi @erangvee, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

I love the art, Mononoke is one of my Favorite Miyazaki Films. Almost cosplayed as Ashitaka one year.

I wanted to let you know we do have an Anime community here on hive, The Anime Realm, that I created for anime related content if you want to check it out. It's not to big right now, but I'd love to see you over there.

PeakD Frontend: https://peakd.com/c/hive-158489/created

Hive.Blog Frontend: https://hive.blog/trending/hive-158489

 4 years ago  

thank you! mononoke is also one of my favorites out of his films. 🧡

i never knew there's an anime community around! i'll definitely contribute a post or two one of these days.

Great movie! and your draw look really awesome!

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! and yup, princess mononoke is a really nice movie! 😊

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!
 4 years ago  

Thank you so much! ❤️

me gusto desde el proceso hasta el resultado final, muy bien 👍

 4 years ago  

thank you! 🧡