[Timelapse] Blue Hair | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

Here's a confession that's probably relatable to other girls: Jack Frost, in all his being an animated character, has a smile that makes me giddy. This confession will sound weird af if I translate it to: I have a crush on Jack Frost. But, well... that's the truth.

I remember being unsuspecting while entering the cinema with friends to watch Rise of the Guardians, then exiting the place with a stupid grin on my face. Then I drew him in class one time... then again... then again.

Honestly, I have reasons to believe that it wasn't only the smile, it was also the hair. It was silver and boyish, and was perfect for Jack Frost's character. So when I found this picture on Pinterest, my mind went haywire and all I can think about was, "This is it. He is Jack Frost."

(He isn't.)

Blue Hair

For one, he had blue hair. And then... he was human. He wasn't the younger-looking version of the Old Man Winter. But he came close because of his eyes and how his hair was styled. So I drew him.

Drawing Blue Hair

He was really attractive; it was difficult not to notice that when I was literally watching his features to draw him. My mind was still screaming, "Jack Frost!" but I knew better.

Still, I enjoyed sketching him then painting him with colors. I love the reference's colors! I also love the fact that they bathe this Jack Frost-look-alike in red.

I added in all base colors and, unlike my many other works that had backgrounds, I did the background on this one first before Jack Frost-look-alike. I wasn't proud of it. How come all these great artists I find on Instagram make rough-painting backgrounds look easy? It was difficult for me, and I couldn't seem to fix it so I let it be.

As with my previous drawing, Bronze, I decided to lay out all shadows and lights first here before going on with the complete detail, just to see it take form. Then I went on with the rest of the details with good ol' watercolor brush.

I normally would have drawn the eyes, eyebrows, and mouth on a layer separate from the skin, but I did the skin and all other details in one single layer this time. Of course, that was a very bad move on my part, ambitious even.

As if to spite me for doing them in a single layer, I did the mouth and eyes wrong and had to manually correct them (as manually as it gets in a digital drawing application). Makes me wonder how I'd fare had I drawn this traditionally... in oil. I would have probably flipped and cried in a corner.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); pen (100% opacity); blur

Timelapse

Here's a timelapse video that spans the whole process -- from messy sketches down to the coloring.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Notes

I wonder how long I'd be able to keep up with this drawing spree. I sure hope longer, as I'm sincerely enjoying doing this. It helps so much that I receive a lot of support from family, friends, and strangers alike. So if you're reading this and have been cheering me on since I got back to drawing early this year, thank you from the bottom of my kokoro!



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

ANG GALING !!!! IDOL ! 😍

 4 years ago  

ano ba, ako lang 'to! HAHAHAHA! salamaaat! 🧡

This is the best post on my career I have found today. Honestly, your a great writer

NaijaRetro

 4 years ago  

thank you!

I love this draw!!!!Grettings and blessings!

 4 years ago  

thank you so much, @desireeart! regards! :)

Excellent, I really like the way you added the front face light.

 4 years ago  

thank you, @francisftlp! ❤️ it was honestly my favorite part of the process hahaha.

Husay ate... Halimaw...

 4 years ago  

salamaaat! 😜

Hermoso diseño, me encanto el toque de cabello azul, se ve muy hermoso en verdad, saludis.

 4 years ago  

i appreciate your comment so much, thank you! ❤️

Awesome work.

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! ❤️

Amazing work bro

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! 😊

 4 years ago  

This is excellent, and you're doing these on a phone?!?! :o

 4 years ago  

This is excellent, and you're doing these on a phone?!?! Amazing. :D

 4 years ago  

This is excellent, and you're doing these on a phone?!?! :o

 4 years ago  

hahaha! thank you! ❤️ unfortunately, i can't prioritize buying myself a new tablet to draw with at the moment, so i have to settle with my phone for now. 😁

Your design is flawless,
I love it.

 4 years ago  

awww thank you!! :D

Wooouu...What a beautiful and impeccable job, I also fell in love with the boy.😍

 4 years ago  

hahaha! i won't deny that i had a crush on him while drawing him. impossible not to when i had to stare at his picture for a long time. xD thank you so much!