The Evolution of Moly - My Favorite OC

in OnChainArt4 years ago

molycover.jpg

English - Español


Hello little Hivers illustration lovers!

Today I'm going to share a little problem that I had when I created Moly, one of my OCs or original characters.

¡Hola pequeños Hivers amantes de la ilustración!

El día de hoy les voy a compartir un problema que tuve después de haber creado a Moly, uno de mis OC o personajes originales.


This is one of the first versions of Moly

image.png

Esta es una de las prmeras versiones de Moly


Normally I draw without having a clear thought of what I want to do. So the first thing I do is check out images on Pinterest, Instagram, or the web in general. After that, I choose one that I like depending on the pose, the colors, the composition and I start working. When I made Moly I was very influenced by the Instagram trend of making demon girls so I said, why not? Let's create an OC.

Moly came out without a lot of effort and I did not draw her a lot, but she was mine, she belongs to me, my property hahaha.

Normalmente dibujo sin tener claro que quiero hacer exactamente. Así que lo primero que hago es ver imágenes en Pinterest, internet, Instagram etc. Después elijo una imagen que me guste, ya sea por la pose, los colores, la composición y con eso empiezo a trabajar. Cuando hice a Moly estaba muy influenciada por la corriente de chicas demonio que muchos artistas andaban haciendo y dije... ¿por qué no? Vamos a crear un OC.

Salió sin mayor esfuerzo y no la dibujaba mucho pero ya era mi chica demonio, mía, de mi, de mi propiedad jajaja.


More previous versions of Moly:

image.png

With Pony another OC - Con Pony otro personaje original

image.png

Más versiones anteriores de Moly


After some time I began seeing a lot of demon girls that were just like Moly. I'm not saying that they copied my style, I think that what may have happened was that the color palette was easy to combine, it was generic, hehe it was like seeing moly in other styles. That's why I decided to make an important and notorious change to Moly.

Resultó que después de un tiempo empecé a ver chicas demonios igualitas a Moly. No digo que me copiaran mi estilo, creo que lo que pasó es que la paleta de colores era bastante buena o combinable (genérica xD) jeje y justo era como ver a Moly en otros estilos. Por lo tanto decidí hacer un cambio bastante notorio en Moly.


Latest versions of Moly before the change:

1.jpg

With the other OCs.

2.jpg

Con los otros personajes originales.

3.jpg

Últimas versiones de Moly antes del cambio.


I changed her skin color

I really loved how she looked on that mild orange skin color, but there was a strange sensation watching all those demon girls with almost the same colors, especially the similar tone of the skin. SO I took this decision and to choose a new skin color I thought about who she was and the reason for the color of her skin.

After thinking it through, I arrived at the conclusion that Moly had a close bloodline from her mother's side with vampires (this is related to her story) and I choose to make her skin pale and with a bluish tone. That's how I arrived at this decision and how I wanted to look more into the life of Moly.

I have created more characters but Moly is my favorite so you will keep seeing her often. I hope that you have liked this post and if you feel identified please share with me which is your favorite OC and which was your creative process at the time of making it.

Cambie su color de piel.

En verdad amaba como se veía con piel naranjosa trigueña, pero me daba una sensación rara ver tantas chicas demonio con esos mismos colores, sobre todo el mismo tono de piel o muy similar así que, tomé esta decisión. Para escoger su nuevo color de piel pensé en quién era ella y por qué razón su piel debía ser de tal o cual color.

Después de un rato de pensarlo detenidamente, llegué a la conclusión de que Moly era cercana a los vampiros por parte materna (tiene que ver con su historia) y decidí hacer su piel pálida y con tono azul. Así fue como llegué a tomar esta decisión y a querer indagar más en la vida de Moly.

Tengo más personajes que he creado pero Moly ha sido la que más me ha cautivado, así que la seguirán viendo a menudo. Espero que este post les haya gustado y si se sintieron identificados, cuentenme cual es su personaje original favorito y cual fue su proceso creativo a la hora de inventarlo.


Current Version of Moly

Process - Proceso:

process.gif

image.png

Final:

IMG_1215.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Versión Actual de Moly


Participate in my DrawThisInYourStyle - Participa en mi #DTIYS:

image.png

More details - Más detalles: https://peakd.com/hive-156509/@grisvisa/draw-moly-in-your-style-and-win-hive-illustration-contest

image.png

There is still time! - ¡Todavía hay tiempo!


Until Next Time!

¡Hasta la Próxima!


circlebanner.png

My Social Media Links - Mis Redes Sociales:

#HIVE: @grisvisa

Instagram - Facebook - YouTube

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I think the characters with the backstories are usually more interesting, even if you end up having to use the same/similar colour palettes for plausibility :)

Least with your demon you can play around with the skin tones to make for a more visually interesting character :) Are those her favourite snacks floating around her? :D And is that cat getting squishied or is it a pillow? :O

I don't really have a favourite OC as such, there are a couplee that got drawn more often than the others mostly by virtue of being one of the first ones I developed XD