Devils and I | Digital Art

in OnChainArtlast year

Devils and I small.jpg

Devils And I
Digital art
2023


So I'm finally done with my drawing! I usually write a description of my work whether it be poem or just words but this time I'll just leave it blank. I'd rather have you guess or just have your own interpretation on the work without my words affecting it and it's always interesting that way. :D

I'm so happy and proud I finally am able to finish a work without hating it haha. I've been procrastinating a lot that it took me a very long time to go back to digital painting. In fact this is my first art in 2023. :D I'm feeling very positive and successful to finally be able to get out of the hiatus and all I need is to be consistent with making and reading stuff to be able to break out completely from burnout. It feels so refreshing and I'm feeling the same craving for creating as I did before I took a break.

Anyway, you might be wondering about the weird ratio. I made it specifically for an upcoming irl exhibit in Paris, France organized by Gxrls Revolution for International Women's month. The works will be shown in a 43 in TV, hence the ratio of 16:9. I was thinking of animating it too but I think it would be better as a still image. More info about the exhibit will be available in the next few days. :)



Process

s1.jpg

I already have an image in my mind and the possible concept of it. I then took a photo of myself to be used as a reference and drew it on Photoshop. Yes, all artists use and have used references, both for practice and making the final work. Some prefer to draw from imagination and others use references and both are okay! It doesn't necessarily determine one's quality or worth of the work.

Most of my work use references I have produced myself. That includes the subjects/models which is most of the time me. XD I find it easier than looking for specific poses and lighting on the internet and also because most are self portraits - like personal works. I am working towards a universal theme as well but just because the model is me doesn't always necessary mean that it's a self portrait or a work about myself ya know what I'm saying?



Sketch5.jpg

Then I had to do the black and white paint and stuff. :p



Sketch5r.jpg

I drew the rest of the ladies. xD I didn't know where exactly this is going but I've learned not to get scared of the spontaneity.



Devils and Is.jpg

Some random stuff on the background lol.



Devils and hand.jpg

Spent too much time on this hand.



Sketchjj.jpg

I was planning to put a vulture at one point but decided not to in the end.



Devils and I small.jpg

In the end, I changed the background color and added a lot of some random lines which I like. I like a combination of realism, cartoonish, and also abstract and thankfully I have merged them well (and not look weird xD).

That's all for now, thanks for looking!

Sort:  

This really is so dope. Your style is insanely unique.

 last year  

Thank you! Struggled with style back then, glad I was able to find one that is more consistent haha

I really like the whole process of your drawing which is really cool. I recognize how the face start to appears after the first image, truly appreciate your skills.

Have a good day 😊

 last year  

Thank you!

I love the details on the hand. 😊

 last year  

Glad you liked it! :D

Im glad you are back at painting and feeling better, we all have something that makes us feel complete, keep it up ✌️😎

 last year  

Thank you!

Sheeesh! You nailed it!

 last year  

Thank you! :D

Awesome concept, very original and looks very nice

 last year  

Thank you!