Some Sketches and a Commission that did not Come out as Expected

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

Hi, dear Hivers
This was not a very good week for me, but here I am trying to get back on track with my drawings and cartoons. Sometimes projects do not come out as you expect them and that can be demoralizing. Other times, you may not be the right artist for a given customer.

IMG20200914WA0046.jpg

Diapositiva1.JPG

This is just a sketch I did to practice outlinings, shapes, and coloring.

IMG20200914WA0030.jpg

This is me, cornered and confused trying to get back to work.

IMG20200914WA0044.jpg

I am still learning coloring, as you can see.

IMG20200914WA0045.jpg

This is the reason for this post:

IMG20200914WA0032.jpg

I was not going to post it, but my father insisted that I did. So, here it is. I guess the reason for my frustration was that the customer had certain expectations, but I am not a hyperealistic painter and there is only so much we can do when we do cartoons.

IMG20200913WA0012.jpg

I have to learn not to be affected by this kind of setbacks, but you want all your customers to be satisfied and all your works to be excellent.

IMG20200913WA0015.jpg

IMG20200913WA0017.jpg

At the end he accepted the art; he was just too anxious to give it to his girlfriend as a present and he wanted it to be perfect.
I cannot always do perfect, but I'll keep working on it.

Diapositiva1.JPG

Thanks for stopping by

Hive logo.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I feel you. In the freelance world you will always meet people like this. But never let that change your mind or make you do less work u can use that as a motivation to become better and grow more. I like your works and I hope the right customers find you ❤🙏

Posted using Dapplr

Thank you very much.
I appreciate your encouragement.
Have a great day

 4 years ago  

no need to thank me all good :) we all artists living in this world :)

The setbacks like that suck, but they can also increase your resilience if you let them, and it's also an opportunity to review your interview and client communication processes :)

You mentioned something about not being a hyperrealistic painter, did the client not look at your portfolio before asking for the commission? o_O

Thanks.
The client was a bit picky about having things changed every time. I think he did not quite understand the process.
You are right, communication is key and I have to work on that so that no more misunderstandings occur in the future.

Perfect doesn't exist and if that chap, the customer, seeks it in his relationship he's in for a lifetime of disappointment and bad relationships.

Anyway, enough about that lad and his unrealistic expectations...Nice artwork! I draw like a four year old, but that's ok, I do other stuff well.

I hope you're doing great and you have a nice day.

Thank you for your kind and wise words.
You're right nothing is perfect. We should not fret about some things, but I guess it takes time. I think I saw one of your drawings in one of the weekend engagement posts. Funny. Sometimes the drawing just need some basic lines to express an idea.
You too have a great day.

Oh yeah, my hideous drawing is immortalised on the blockchain a couple times. If you dig deep enough you'll find a few examples. (Nothing worth bothering to find though). :)

For someone who is having a bad week, these are pretty good! I marvel at what goes into a good drawing, and love these posts where the process is shown.

Thank you very much. There have been some better ones in previous posts. Even though it is the same technique, sometimes forms and expressions flow better. One feels like every detail is falling into place as it should be.
It's like when a singer performs with some problems. The audience may not notice,but she does. And then there is the performance when the singer feels satisfied, all notes in place, voice and body, like she could not have put anything else into it.

That's a great analogy. I sing, so I know exactly what you mean. I see all the errors, but others don't and seem to enjoy my singing.