King Of My Nation - Digital Art

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I was looking through one of my old sketchbooks today, and I decided to give one of my old works another shot.

It's a pen drawing I made years ago before I even got consistent with doing art. I love going back to old stuff and doing it again, because it allows you to see how much you've improved.

Had fun and learnt some lessons doing this. Digital art is becoming easier for me as the days go by. I've still got a lot to learn though, but with practice I'll definitely improve.

Tools

  • Autodesk Sketchbook

The Process

Step 1

I started by taking a photo of the original pen drawing. I imported that into Sketchbook and used it as reference. The line art followed the original closely and improved on it.

I fixed the bloated neck in the original and gave him shoulders.


Step 2

The line art was done and it was time to colour it.


Step 3

I started by choosing a colour palette. Then I used the inking pen and applied the base colour for the skin.


Step 4

I locked the transparency of the layer with the skin shading and applied highlights. The eyes were next in line and were done with the inking pen.


Step 5

I actually shaded the hair twice.

After completing the hair the first time, I had an idea of adding a bandanna. I was actually doing that before Sketchbook crashed.

When I opened it again I met a blank page. My work for the last half hour was gone. I loaded a saved file from before the hair was done, and had to do it all over again.

I ditched the bandanna idea this time and decided to go for a flag in the background.


Image credits @jacksondavies


Sort:  

Congratulations @jacksondavies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Why did you ditch the bandana idea? Its great work

I was drained. After Sketchbook crashed I did'nt have it in me.

I just repainted the hair and moved on.