I Created a Mascot For Hive Using Inkscape |About and Process

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

COVER.png

Hello my fellow hivers, hiveians and to the hive community. I just really got out of ideas on what to blog and I decided to go back again in digital arts. I really like making graphic designs and animations but I am not that good yet so in order for me to enhance my skills, I thought of making vectors and digital illustrations.

So, I made a mascot for Hive called " Hivey". This mascot symbolizes the hivers and a mascot for a a project to be made.


Actually, I just made my first digital art here on Hive just 2 days ago. It was my first time making vectors in my phone and I really had a hard time. I also really tried to learn the app that I used for the first time. I watched a lot of tutorials to learn more in making digital arts.

In the past few days, I have just created two arts using MediBang Paint.




image.png






ABOUT.png

path7274-6-90-8-7.png

Hivey is a mascot representing the Hive community. The color itself follow the theme color of hive.blog. As you can see, hivey is a one-eyed robot holding two pens. The concept of being a robot is that we, hivers are now integrating ourselves (our talents and works) into the technology. The pens and the eyes symbolizes the talents of this community. The eyes is like a camera which shows how hivers are really good in photography and videography. The pens symbolize our passion in writing our daily expriences, drawing arts and paintings, and write stories and poetry.

PRO.png

I wanted to make Hivey as a project but I am not sure if hivers will support this project and if the project really is good and helpful. So basically, I will be crowdsourcing first if I have to launch this project or not.

Hivey says: " Keep on Hiving". Hiving basically means "move together in a hive or as if in a hive". And I want every hivers to be like bees, to keep on hiving here in this community, to stay and be together with every hivers.

And to do so, I want to make "Hivey". Before, I really witnessed that there are many talented steemians in steemit before, but they left the platform because they have done a lot but still they have less popularity as well as their posts.

And, we do not want that to happen in hive. As we can observe, there are a lot of exceptional posts here on Hive that has less exposure. And Hivey wants to highlight those exceptional posts that has underexposure and undervalued. Hivey wants to curate those posts and to increase both their posts' popularity and the hiver itself.

Hivey's Plan of Action

  • Curate Quality contents
  • Highlight Exceptional, Underexposed and Undervalued Post in Every community
  • Feature Daily New Hivers and Existing Hivers (What are their Blogs about )

  • If ever, I am to go forward with this project, I will make a full post about Hivey and his plan of actions here on Hive.

    So my fellow hivers , hiveians and to the hive community, comment down below your thoughts if Hivey should be progressed as a project or what alterations should be done to the project.

    Also, comment down your thoughts what alterations should I make to make Hivey mascot more nice and awesome.

    PROCESS.png

    This ismy entry for a mascot creation for utopian before on Steemit but it was not selected so I thought of recreating this mascot and call it Hivey.

    1p.png
    What I did first is used the arc tool in Inkscape (you could press F5), and made the head of the mascot. I thought of having the eyes surrounded by a circular frame.

    2p.png
    Still using the arc tool, I put some dots aligning the frame and made the eyes. Then, in making the mouth, I used the bezier tool(Shift+F6). I just left the mouth without teeth, just having the lips.

    3p.png
    After which, still using the bezier tool, I made the arms and the hands. Actually, you could also use the freehand tool, but I find it easier to use the bezier tool.

    4p.png
    And yeah,still using the bezier tool, I made the legs and the arms of the mascot. Then, I thought of what to put in the hands of the mascot. And since hive, is about blogging of course, I thought that having a pencil icon on the mascot's hand would be nice and appropriate. I searched for a pencil icon in google as my reference

    4p.png

    Lastly, I put some colors on the parts of the mascot using the fill and colors tab. As you can observe the theme color is black and red. It is because it shows the color of hive's website itself. Also, red symbolizes for happiness and passion, and in fact, hivers really are passionate when it comes to writing and showing their talents and abilities in to this community.


    MEDIUM.png

    In making Hivey, I used Inkscape because it is both free and an open-source graphics editor. Also, it is really user-friendly

    What's up Hivers ! Give me a Hive Five.......................................Nice! This is Chris Jason A. Oswa, your boy @jason04. I am a Computer Engineering student. I am proud to be a hiver and assures to give quality content as I can. I am a "jack of all trades, master of none" which means I can do a bit of poetry, a bit of travel blog, daily experiences and a bit of graphic designs. Hope you enjoyed reading my blog and don't forget to upvote, comment your suggestions and reblog. Lastly, follow me to be updated with my random blogs. Again, this is your boy @jason04 and " HIVE a nice day!".
    Sort:  

    Congratulations @jason04! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

    You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

    Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!