Watercolor Portrait Study #5: Youth

in OnChainArt4 years ago

20200718_020333.jpg

Hi everyone! I hope you're all safe and doing fine! Recently, I've been practicing different techniques in using watercolor. But to share with you, I've never done any portraits before! I never have the real courage to do so because I thought I do not have a hope for doing such kind of art. And it's too bad for me that I didn't saw my capabilities before. BUT it's never too late. During the quarantine period, I've decided to get out of my comfort zone, challenge myself and try new stuffs. And here are the results! If you'll check out my previous blogs, I've already posted my very first attempt and previous studies in doing portraits using watercolor but honestly, this painting is my currently favorite! :)

I really just wanted to share this story of mine to remind that everybody has so much more things that can do, and sometimes getting out of our comfort zone can turn into something beautiful we didn't expected :)

Materials used:
Prang watercolor on Canson watercolor paper


This are my work in progress.

-I'm still practicing free hand sketching but for now I'm using grids for a more accurate edges :)

20200717_133433.jpg

-Here you can see how I layer my works part by part upto the finished painting. Mixing skintone was the very tough part for me because it basically sums up the whole color combination through out the painting. Also, detailing was the crucial part because watercolors are harder to rework unlike acrylic and poster colors.

20200717_230037.jpg

20200717_233115.jpg

20200718_002045.jpg

20200718_004327.jpg

20200718_015120.jpg


Reference

Ps. Your insights and views on this are appreciated feel free to comment down your thoughts :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @jhena! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hey, incredible painting. I like it, i like it so much.

Thank you so much! :)