MY 4 FAVORITE WATERCOLOR PENCIL PORTRAITS ON MY SKETCHBOOK

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)


IMG_20200826_111956 (1).jpg

What's up hivers! How y'all doing? I hope you are all safe, healthy and happy. Today, I want to talk about my 4 favorite watercolor pencil portraits that I did during this pandemic. So, I have been collecting some reference photos to be drawn and they are all lovely but one disadvantages of this is that I am having a hard time of picking or choosing one at a time to be my basis. It's like I want all of it so my solution to this is that I am going to sort my references from what I think is the easiest subject to draw. As you guys might observed, I am really into portraits. I am really obsessed with it. I am not a master of it. I always try my best to be better at it and this amazed me each time I got to finish my sketches because just like what I have shared with you guys I really do have a short retention. Less of the talk, dive in and I'll show you!

hive dividers-04.png

Portraits has been one of the oldest subject in terms of drawing yet it is always unique and different. Let say that there are group of artists who draw a portrait of the same person but their works looks distinct from one another-the strokes, style, genre, media and all. From how they started, the process and the results at the end are very unlike. One might start with a pencil or directly with a paint outline or a background color. All of these make it more beautiful to the viewers and both for the artist. For the viewers, they can look forward about what can artists offer, how he or she is going to present it and the possible story that they might think of. In contrary, the artist can builds up his or her identity, her distinct mark, her brand but we all know that this will take time.

MATERIALS


Fabercastell Classic Watercolor Pencil
Watercolor Brush
Monggol 2 Pencil
Eraser

PORTRAITS


IMG_20200826_111854 (1).jpg

As being mentioned, I searched some references for these illustrations and tried to do it on my own. The first sketch is a beautiful woman. I really find the nose and eyes unpleasant. I feel like I need to retouch it or something but I love my color choices of these portraits because it complements each other. I like how it has pinkish, brownish and a hint of violet in their skin appears. To be honest, this is actually my first ever watercolor pencil portrait ever so bare with me guys. I also plan to redraw it probably using the same medium or in color pencil.


IMG_20200826_111902 (1).jpg

Second, I think this is my most favorite among all of my entries. I love the pose of the model, the color, the vibe even if the hands are way too awkward. I also include this in my blog's introductory post, you can check it out if you want to.


IMG_20200826_111928 (1).jpg

Third is a side view portrait which I find so beautiful. After doing all of these portraits, I was really proud to myself because it is major stepping stone to improve in drawing. At first, I was very very nervous in holding a brush because I am not used to it and I'm scared that I might mess up. One might ask if I am still nervous or scared, yeah but lesser than before. It's more like I am playing but I am also conscious sometimes specially when I use my watercolor pencils or any materials because I don't have much of it. I'm broke.


IMG_20200826_111916 (1).jpg

Lastly, this portrait is a close up shot of an other beautiful woman. I can see a little resemblance of Emilia Clarke, how about you hivers? If you can't recognize, the eyes are a bit dark green and a bit awkward too. I really have a hard time in finishing the eyes and the tiny detail in these 4 portraits because my available brushes are so big but I still love it.
I hope you enjoyed this little walk through of my favorite/ first set of watercolor pencil portraits. I hope I can still do and improve more. Thank you! Maraming Salamat!
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, 19 years old and soon will be no longer a teenager! I am a self taught artist, if you consider me as one. I am the only daughter of my loving and little uptight parents. Plus, the one and only sister of my naughty, messy and nasty three brothers. I am a student in Cebu Normal University- Main Campus who wishes to complete the program of Bachelor of Secondary Education Major in Science, to cut it short, I want to be a teacher someday. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.
Sort:  

Congratulations @jmauring! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Naol may😂😂 Paturo lodi

Ahahahaha. Dli sad oy.

Me encantan, fabulosos.

excelente trabajo de arte te felicito amiga sigue adelante

muchas gracias.

👋 Hi @jmauring, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #48.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.