Winter Flowers in a Sketchbook

in OnChainArt2 years ago (edited)


Winter Flowers in a Sketchbook – Watercolor – 9 x 12 inches.

In late Autumn, little green blades emerge from narcissus paperwhite bulbs and begin to stretch their fingers up and out towards the sun. Nights grow longer and colder at this time of year and each day there is less and less light; sometimes it feels like the sun is dying. In the last days of December, especially on cloudy days, it feels like the sun will never come back to us.

Two mornings after Christmas, we woke up to a dark, white world. During the night a ferocious storm had swept through the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, leaving behind more than a foot of heavy snow and the wreckage of fallen limbs and power lines, houses and cars crushed beneath uprooted trees and the weight of snow. Some homes in our town endured more than two weeks without heat or electricity. We were lucky: only seven days without power.

Dark days of clouds and not even a murmur of Spring. I shoveled snow, chopped ice, chain-sawed cedar and oak limbs and drew the paperwhites. One day they gave up. I found them collapsed onto the red shoulders of a poinsettia. Did they fall under their own weight? Were they exhausted from searching for the hidden sun? Maybe they were just tired of being my muses? I hope they'll pose for me again the next time the sun almost disappears.

Find more images on my website.

Sort:  

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you! I appreciate your support and have subscribed to your community. I am still new to these platforms so I find my way around slowly. Will check out your links and learn more, though. Thanks again.

Ciao... As I continue learning about Hive and posting on the blockchain, I have a follow-up question:

I have been posting to the OnChainArt community, and in response to your post I have also joined your community. As I read your rules, I noticed that it says "no crossposting"... To be clear, this means that you do NOT welcome any content that is also posted elsewhere, correct? So I couldn't post both to OnChainArt and also to your community?

I appreciate any clarifications because I am learning about all this, but very slowly. Grazie!

I sent you a message on your instagram, hope you can respond to it, thanks!

Hi @adamada, you should have received my reply! Thanks for checking in.

Screenshot_20220119_175335.jpg

Adding this here for future reference. Will add the member status on your account at onchainart later. Thanks!

!discovery 20

!discovery 20