MARACAIBO - The city I used to live in...

in OnChainArt4 years ago
Authored by @JosyArte

Maracaiboaccesible_WEB.jpg

For 28 years of my life I lived in this city, a coastal city, overlooking a large lake called Lake Maracaibo, with stories of pirates, tunnels and ghosts. I remember it for its color, its heat, its beautiful sunsets, a large and bright sun, orange and vaporous horizons.

.
UBS_Maracaibo2.jpg
Barrio SANTA LUCIA
IMG_0162.JPG

During my design career my main inspiration was this city, its architecture and its history. Walking through the old town excited me, thinking about all the novels and stories that were inspired by the lake shore in those old houses, big as castles, stone streets ... Everything in it took me to another era.

.

baralt_2015.JPG

  • Technical Information
    Watercolors and Inks on paper
    Year:2010 | 2014 | 2015

.
.
Details of other of my artworks inspired by Maracaibo:
.
ARTWORK: "Sinfonía de Valores 2013"

.
.
.
ARTWORK: "Cálida Fortaleza 2012"


.
.

After 5 years living far from it, I feel nostalgia for the lake wind, for the bright horizon of the lake, for the moonlit nights reflected in the water ... However many speak of Maracaibo as something very different, a city ghost, a gray city full of garbage in its streets ... It is sad and deep that feeling of being frozen in a memory of something that has long ceased to be ...

.
.

MORE info:
Creative Commons - @josyarteaga
Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND)
WEBSITE
INSTAGRAM
TWITTER
.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love your paintings. Will resteem 😊

 4 years ago  

I wish I could do watercolor painting as well as you do! The colors are so vibrant and beautiful. ❤️

I hope that in the near future, Maracaibo goes back to the way it was, just like in your memories. It seemed really lovely, by the way you describe it.

Thank you very much!, I hope that too ❣️

Looks and sounds like a beautiful place :) You're not living there now? Have you been back since you left?

Hello thank you very much. It is a city in Venezuela, 5 years ago I emigrated to look for a better life opportunity in Colombia, and since then I have not returned, I only know what my parents and friends who have traveled there have told me.

Congratulations @josyarteaga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Que bellas ilustraciones @josyarteaga, felicitaciones!!