Magical Potions- 30 min Sketch #20+ Detailed Art Process

in OnChainArt4 years ago

6.jpg

Hi guys! It has a been a while since my last extra detailed art post so here it is ^_^ The next post will probably be a recipe, I'm almost done with the draft.

In general I love magic and potions since they're only limited by our imagination. I can't remember when I first got hooked to fantasy, it might have been the Harry Potter books. Later I read lots of other various fantasy stories and I wondered what kind of "potions" I could try making in real life. This might have influenced my love for teas or maybe it was the other way around even. Probably the best part about potions is simply the mystery, guessing what the potions might actually do.

This drawing is a part of my 30min Daily Spitpaints series. My goal is to make 30-50 of them, with the main purpose to explore more themes without getting too stuck on each one. So far I've had great success with the drawings, improving my overall drawing speed quite a bit. I recommend giving this a try to any artist who has mastered many of the art basics. I've still left to study more perspective and anatomy, I might make those my next goal.

1.jpg

Working with a 30 min time limit shouldn't be stressful, so don't pressure yourself if it's not working out. I didn't suddenly start drawing 30min sketches like this, I've spent many more hours before practicing all kinds of art techniques, so I don't have to think too much while sketching these. If you're a beginner, don't rush your drawings as it can be discouraging. Take your time and learn things at your pace. I occasionally scrap a sketch that simply doesn't look right and that's normal, I've scrapped 100s of sketches over the years. Letting go of drawings is a step to towards improving and exploring the next interesting idea.

A great way to draw various objects is to start with a silhouette, especially with digital art. The silhouette can quickly give you the idea of object and event the mood of the sketch. Consider colors, round vs sharp edges, amount of details and composition.

2.jpg

I'm mostly drawing with full opacity brush here, adding rough shapes to see how the transparent bottle will work. For drawing where I have a detailed background I might use overlay or various transparency settings to achieve the glass effect. If you're learning to draw glass I recommend the most basic background and focusing mostly on how light reflects off glass. It's important to decide the light source (or multiple sources) and to keep it consistent throughout the drawing. This might be the hardest part when studying various textures, but it's worth investing the time to learn. Then you'll be able to draw various shapes and texture them as you wish.

3.jpg

I duplicated the bottle to save some time and I used various transforms and over paint to get the new shape. I changed the color to make the drawing more interesting, since that's easier than adding other details. With limited time you need to get creative on how to save time.

4.jpg

For the round bottle I used circle and square marquee tool to get the basic silhouette which then I filled quickly with shading. Getting all of the important big details fast let me know how much time I have left on the details.

5.jpg

I used a few references to get inspired, like adding the glow on the bottom of the bottles. The glow is very rough, but it really make the bottles stand out. My last step was using a soft round brush and overlay layer, to make the bottles look like they're glowing.

Ref: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/568579521706247618/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/568579521708273297/

image.png

I use a sharp brush that's somewhat like a pencil. The final result looks more detailed than it actually is.

N2.jpg

The above was my initial try at the bottles, but I wasn't feeling it. I'm glad I scrapped it since I would have the other drawing otherwise. I prefer sketchy style, and these bottles looked too sterile and clean compared to my other sketches. When I'm working on a project I try to keep the style consistent, even thought in general I love to draw lots of various styles. Being consistent within a project takes discipline and skill, but it's also better for presentation and art portfolio.

image.png

Thank you for reading <3 ^_^

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much! :)

Oh, what a collection of cute flasks. Your graphics are so cool. You should try selling your services to the game development studios. I'm sure one or more will be happy to work with you. 😉

 4 years ago  

Thank you ^^ haha I am working on something right now ;)

Nice to know that!

I suddenly had flashbacks to my youngest announcing "I'm making a POTION!" when I walked in to find out what all the racket in the kitchen was one day XD Back when they were little one of the activities I used to set them up outside with was a small table with various food stuffs and whatever interesting shaped containers I could find so they could make "potions" (and because everything I gave them was food it was reasonably safe to consume in small quantities if they were silly enough). Now that they're big and can get they're own ingredients I need to watch youngest every time he's in a potion making mood XD

And the most fun thing with magic potions are how impractical and cute the bottles can be XD

 4 years ago  

Awwww so sweet!! I think my brother and I did something similar as kids, but I can't remember exactly, will ask him :D I did make a bunch of decorative tiny potions years ago. Most ended up leaking 😂 Thank you for the reminder!
IMG_0086.JPG

Now that they're big and can get they're own ingredients I need to watch youngest every time he's in a potion making mood

That's too adorable xDD

Thank you for making my morning ^_^

Love the contrast of colors and theme. I think it's a good excercise to let go off our sketches and artwork that you do it in 30 mmin! Also to not make art perfect - even though it already is as is lol I want to try that.

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D You should try it. I take a long time to draw in general, so this lets me get a lot more drawings done. There are already too many things I want to draw, but I didn't because I couldn't dedicate enough time on each. It's really fun too :)

cuddle_teddy2.png

 4 years ago  

Good morning ^_^

!discovery 20

 4 years ago  

Thank youu!! :D


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

this looks great! What program are you using?

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D PS

You did this in 30 minutes? This looks so cool. Fantasy inspiration activated!

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D Yeah, but this was 2nd try xD First failed miserably (I reset time)

I have put you on my Hive autovoter for #creativecoin curation. Keep it up, your work is amazing!

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much! ^-^