Museum of Mysteries- Storytelling

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

Museum of MysteriesS.jpg

Hi everyone! The latest adventure series art is out ;) On Saturday, so tomorrow, I'll be holding a 24h giveaway to celebrate 2months since I started creating NFT-s <3 It has been really exciting 2 months and I've made more art than ever I just keep getting more and more ideas.

The new Knownorigin layout allows for 2000 characters description :O So of course I wrote half a chapter xD

Check out the full resolution and story here:

2.jpg

I'm still an amateur at storytelling, but the most important thing to keep in mind is- only practice will help me improve, just like with drawing. For the first adventure paintings I only did relatively short descriptions and even those felt challenging. The more I write, the easier it is to find words to express myself and I feel less self conscious about "making mistakes". I've noticed overthinking in writing and art is more of a burden that creates art block, than a smart decision. I'm sure some creatives work better with planning and organization, but my solution for art/writing block was to just get started. In the end it's up to me whether I want to share something or just put it in "archive". I prefer not to delete failed art or writing, as some ideas can become useful in the future for inspiration.

3.gif

This painting took a lot of time because of all of the small details and the color palette is more challenging. I work best with violets/blues, so this painting was the complete opposite of what I'm used to. I still really love how it turned out :)

5S.jpg

Storytelling in art is a lot about details and letting the viewer guess the story. Additional written story is helpful, but the art is the first impression here. Even though my details are rough here, you can probably recognize painting frames, a huge skeleton and even an unusual skull in the bottom left. I added some wallpaper details in the background, which I ended up changing to be more blended with the scene. On the walls, you can see shelves with more small items. My favorite is probably the jar with some eyes ;) I didn't want it to be too morbid, so I left it very vague. Also the weird little octopus creature was a fun accident, so I left it as is.

I've been practicing painting more shiny and golden things, I've seen some really incredible paintings with "gold" and I want to find various ways to use it in my style :D

As you can see my "storytelling" is very vague, but that leaves room for interesting interpretation.

7.jpg

Here you can see I fixed the perspective. I initially painted only front view, but I started unconsciously adding elements in perspective, so I took some time to fix the painting. This was a bit difficult, but worth it in the end. Details always take a lot more time than the whole painting, so I'm very picky with what I choose to detail :)

Dragon head winners: @julesquirin ; Pixelart Community: @janaveda

Tonight or tomorrow I'll announce the Pixelart contest winners and the new theme ^_^

Thank you for checking out!

Sort:  

Hi @kristyglas,

This is an excellent painting. For me, the production process is very surprising: very creative. It is fantastic like you starting from a few strokes of color, little by little you are shaping it with many details. As for writing, I think it also has its complexities, although it seems great to me, being able to combine both arts, being able to make them complementary in both ways.

 4 years ago  

Thank you! You describe it beautifully :D Sounds like sculpting in a way. Yeah writing has complexities, but I always preferred young adult and children's books because a lot of them are about character development, improvement and becoming a better person. Also they're often very creative and fun ^^

I agree with you regarding books for children and young adults. As a child, my daughter liked me to tell her a story before going to sleep, in that sense, I was her storyteller, I usually made it up on the fly. Now she is about to turn 23 years old, and from time to time, she sent her some of the ones I write here on #hive. I try in every short story I write, to leave a message that edifies and entertains at the same time.

My daughter likes to draw, perhaps for this reason I came to this great little community that you manage, probably in the near future I will complement the writings with the drawings that I make, even being honest, it would be walking on the footprints left, plus I am still learning and having fun in the process.

 4 years ago  

Aww that's so sweet <33 Step by step and you can do it! :D
You're really great with words! I definitely stumble a lot in real life xD

Thank you for your kind comments. I just try to be as clear as possible in what I write, especially in Spanish, if you do it well in your native language, the translation algorithms will probably be more reliable when they translate it. However, I never trust myself, I always check to avoid possible nonsense.

I work more and learn something more every day, I suppose that is the case with painting, whether traditional or digital.

 4 years ago  

I know english better than my native or my mother tongue :) That's the problem with learning too many languages for me, I don't know any perfectly.
I agree on always learning something new ^^

Interesting! Perhaps it is better to know a little of everything than all of nothing. Languages are means to communicate and if you know several better.

Waaaah thats amazing! I see how this must have been a challenge for you to do, but great job, and it looks like you had a great time doing it too! :D

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much ^_^ I did !!

There's certainly something to be said where storytelling is done not with words, but paintings. Just gazing at this, my mind wonders and imagines as to all sorts of stories from just one, awesome illustration 😁! It's very beautiful, and using perspective drawings really give it a lot of, well, perspective!