Path of the Monolith- Async

in OnChainArt3 years ago

prviewF.gif

This post is about my art process for my Async genesis artwork: https://async.art/art/master/0xb6dae651468e9593e4581705a09c10a76ac1e0c8-940

This painting is a part of my Adventure series, a journey about discovery, persistence and perseverance. This project is quite personal but I keep the meanings vague enough for others to find their own interpretations and connection to the art.

End of the year has always been a reflective time, wondering what the next year will bring and setting various goals. I wanted to wrap 2020 with my best work, so that gave me extra motivation for various details.

I'm particularly excited about Async, because it feels like gamifying art, making it intractable and fun.

CrystalCaveProcessgif.gif

Async is programmable art and I used the 3 layer canvas option to create this project.

Cloaks: https://async.art/art/layer/0xb6dae651468e9593e4581705a09c10a76ac1e0c8-943

Monoliths: https://async.art/art/layer/0xb6dae651468e9593e4581705a09c10a76ac1e0c8-942

Backgrounds: https://async.art/art/layer/0xb6dae651468e9593e4581705a09c10a76ac1e0c8-941

My old post explaining Storytelling

A.jpg

Composition

I've been planning for a while before for what elements I want in the painting. The tricky part will be matching monument colors with various backgrounds.
I liked the front view most (3,6), & I haven't really used it before.

My old blog post explaining composition

B.jpg

BN.jpg

Colors

Different scenes, different moods, different meanings. I tried to cover most colors, but I skipped green because strong color contrast would make layers harder to interchange. This is why I made a couple of color variations for some monoliths, so that fit better with backgrounds.

My old blog post where I explain colors and atmosphere

Grand Library Progress.jpg

Details

I start the painting with a textured brush, then I add various details with an ink brush. Details take longest time and most patience, but if my base colors and composition feel great, I feel more confident spending all the extra time to make the painting special.

My old post explaining detailing

Forest6.jpg

Symbols

Firstly I wanted to make an artwork where descriptions change based on the layers selected, but that's currently not available. So, I figured a way to do it through artwork. In the future I'll consider having a separate layer for stories, or maybe a sort of visual story book.

I've adjusted an old "Wingdinglish" alphabet I created to fit the art style, so I can add more story elements without detracting from the artwork.

image.png

Thank you @dcroweth for sharing the photos <33 I love seeing different symbol designs, so many possibilities.

Snowy Mountain Process.jpg

Mystery

Even though I'm shared the art process on Twitter, I'm still left final parts for the surprise.
Every new environment I paint somehow becomes my current favorite. Then I feel even more excited for the next one I plan to work on.

image.png

Consistency- Aka Art Style

Recording my art process has been helpful in developing my several art styles, as I can easily switch between them whenever I want.
Of course it helps to know art fundamentals like colors and how to paint materials. My style for the adventure series has developed, but I still enjoy doing the sketchy drawings as well. That's why I started daily 2021 sketches.

image.png

Back to Values

I can't emphasize enough importance of values. A painting that works in black and white will often look well regardless of the color palette. Painting details can offset values, so I check often.

image.png

Cloaks

I paint the folds first, then I add the details on a new layer, finally I add the shiny finish.

The cloaks symbolize the present moment, they're the insulation from the outside world. The protection and comfort, giving us the strength to keep advancing.

I prefer designing the cloaks, because I want the character to stay anonymous and relatable to anyone.

image.png

Monoliths

Shapes and colors have so much symbolism on their own, it was interesting to make as many variations as I could think of. I started with shapes, then shading, then details, lastly shine.

Monoliths represent the future, they can be considered more like magical charms to aid us in our pursuits. Each monolith has it's own meaning and purpose.

My old post explaining Polishing stage

image.png

Exporting all layers took some time, also testing combinations. Thankfully in the end I used Async generated tester so I could find issues with centering and adjust a contrast issue with the obelisk.

This is an extended version of my process Tweets. It took me roughly a month of on and off planning, before I got started. Knowing how long and big this project would be, I decided to share process while working, instead of only after project is done.

Path of the Monolith is a sort of my protection charm for 2021, and I hope it will bring more fortune and positive events.

image.png

Thank you for checking out!

Happy 2021!!! <333

Sort:  

Impressive work 👍 with many details. I like the step by step gif.
Wishing you the best for this New Year.

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much!! Happy New Year :D

Ode to ethereum 😅

WOW!!! This is an incredibly interesting and great job !!

 3 years ago  

Thank you so much! :D