You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking back Control

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Awww, I remember that bird tutorial, and thank you for participating back then, it was really inspiring and was happy people participated <3

I'm currently trying to manage too many things so finding balance is certainly tricky, but I have so many things I want to do art related. ^^

You should check out the pixelart community here if you haven't. I'm sponsoring a weekly contest. And actually would be happy to sponsor a non pixelart contest too. Contests were always the best way to meet people and interact when you probably wouldn't otherwise.
The way I usually approach blogging is more like a dairy, especially as I improve it's fun to go back and see how I've changed. Comments and upvotes are certainly nice, but I actually get more when I worry less about it (and other way around) xD
If you're doing this for hobby, stick to your interests, it's easy to get swayed by seeing all art online, but if you know what you want to draw, you can learn more specific things way faster.

Doing 100 dragons and dragon heads 2018-2019 improved my art in many ways. As I learn more, I feel more confident trying things that used to be intimidating (like portraits and strong colors) :)

Sort:  

I'm currently trying to manage too many things so finding balance is certainly tricky, but I have so many things I want to do art related. ^^

I recently started spreading out to different social media platforms just trying to build an audience outside Hive then plan on using whatever influence (if it reaches a high number) to get people on Hive. I can say for sure it ain't easy being on different platforms monitoring each platform's norm.

You should check out the pixelart community here if you haven't. I'm sponsoring a weekly contest. And actually would be happy to sponsor a non pixelart contest too. Contests were always the best way to meet people and interact when you probably wouldn't otherwise.

I looked over that community recently. The pixel art themed made me think twice subscribing, it's like another field that I'm interested in but know that's not the original target field I want. I got interested in pixel for the amount of retro games one can make from the objects. Will check out that community again and see what I can post on it, thank you!

If you're doing this for hobby, stick to your interests, it's easy to get swayed by seeing all art online, but if you know what you want to draw, you can learn more specific things way faster.

This is helpful. A few hours ago I've been watching some art tutorials and motivational videos. Some progress videos of different artist stuck with me and I felt the opposite of being motivated. These people put a lot of time and effort while I stagnated for several months on the subject. The cure is just to keep practicing but I can't but feel crap from the gap of results artist I admire can do within an hour.

Doing 100 dragons and dragon heads 2018-2019 improved my art in many ways. As I learn more, I feel more confident trying things that used to be intimidating (like portraits and strong colors) :)

I'll try to do this approach. But I need to figure out what my 100 images would be focused on. Another good advice, thank you :D