Shipwreck- 30 min Sketch Day 15

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

shipwreck.gif

This one is a little messier, as you can see I changed the composition several times, spending most of my time. Each of the versions probably could have worked, with some extra time.

1.jpg

I started with quick color blots to get started. I don't care about the first brush strokes, those are more of a warm up.

2.jpg

I like the initial composition, but I felt the boat was too small and the drawing would feel too empty. I'd need more environment design to make it catchy.

3.jpg

I made the ship bigger as it's the main focus of the image. My issue with 2nd composition is the perspective. Foreshortening can be tricky and I wasn't sure I could pull it off right in just a few minutes.

4.jpg

After 10min or more messing with the ship I finally found the position I liked. It's very clear and relatively simple.
At this point I merged all of the layers since the extra layers with minor adjustments felt unneccessary.

5.jpg

I added some atmospheric light on a separate layer set on overlay. I played around with color settings, till I achieved colder, deeper feeling colors.

Ref: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/808255464361842233/

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/434175220325199170/

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/122371314862552394/

6.jpg

Next, I turned off the overlay later and worked more on the scene. I added some rough corals and a school of fish (1 fish copy pasted). Later I copy paste the whole set and flip it to fill the empty space. Little details like this makes the drawing feel more complex than it really is.

7.jpg

Finally, I changed the direction of the light and added some quick highlights to define the ship. I was running out of time, so I had to compromise. With more time I'd probably try to achieve more atmospheric perspective, by making the back of the ship blend a bit with the background. The sand is quite rough, but I should have found better reference for that. Finding reference is included in the 30min limit challenge.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Wow.

You do in 30 minutes what would take me 3 hours to achieve.

 4 years ago  

Thank you :) It's practice and motivation, I couldn't do this a year ago as well. I can still take a very long time on some art that I feel should be much faster.

@tipu curate

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much!!! :D

You are super creative. I can't be you.

Great artwork 😊

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D It's really years of practice, just like cooking from my experience. It helps if you learn younger, but it's never too late to start ^^

This is such a cool way to present your work, and nice work it is too! I like the gif, or what ever it's called, at the start...Nice to see the layers, or whatever they are called, come together like that. I like this a lot. Note, meerkat profile image. :)

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D I've noticed that posts with animations for the preview really catch my attention, so I'll try to use it more. ^_^
Cheers! Really glad you liked the meerkat :D

It's a cool way of grabbing attention. Smart. Have a great weekend and thanks for my meerkat. 🙂

If you'd had more time we would have ended up with either something photoreal or some pixelart depending on which way you decided to go XD

Amusing how much it changed from the first go :)

 4 years ago  

Yup :D These are great practice really and can come in handy in the future if I need to draw some similar but more detailed.

It looks good for only 30 minutes👍

 4 years ago (edited) 

Thank you :D It's for a Daily spitaint group on fb, they provide a new themes every day

Oh these are splendid for 30 minutes of work. You have a talent with these! Now I am curious to see what you can do if you have more than just 30 minutes :)

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D Yeah right now my goal is to do 50 of these and 30 of watercolor fish. Afterwards I'll see what I feel like doing ^^ Having rough goals like this helps me stay on track and post regularly.

hi friend @kristyglas

I love your work. It is simple, elegant and very beautiful

Please, tell me with which program or application you do it?

Have a good day

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much :D
Photoshop

Hi Kristy, I had this in my cart. But it was removed for sale? Any chance of making it available for 150HIVE again?