Spiritual Chaos- Sketch #19- The Ups and Downs

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

SpiritualChaos.gif

Hi guys, hope you're all doing well. This post is a little different from my previous few. Some of my art reflects my moods pretty well, constantly changing, but it might not be that clear without text descriptions.

image.png

Both of the drawing above were drawn by me at different times, it's almost like they were drawn by two different artist and I wouldn't change that even if I could. I love both drawings equally and I'll just keep following the flow. If I want to draw something dark and creepy, I do- it makes me feel better. I'm amazed by how consistent some artists are in they art styles, but that has never been me. Every year my style changes if not even more often than that.

Thankfully we are more and more aware that social media isn't a perfect representation of other people's lives. I think we have become more understanding that there is more than just what we post. We prefer to share positive and happy moments, but we usually reserve the difficult ones for those closest to us. I'm no exception, I choose not to share my downs not because I want to paint a perfect picture, but rather because that's my comfort zone. I really wonder if anyone can be happy all the time and always stay positive. We can sure strive for it, but probably the best we can achieve is peace and contentment- is that even permanent?

2.jpg

I've noticed that more people have started talking more openly about burnouts, but that implies overworking ourselves to the point of shudown. At least they're spreading some awareness and it can be comforting to know that we're not alone experiencing the downs.

Anyone can have a bad day, there doesn't have to be a particular reason, it really shouldn't be so villified. Sometimes it's one thing other times it can be lots of little or big reasons.

Sometimes I just want the world to pause for a day and to do nothing at and not feel any guilt for it. I know meditation could help, but sometimes it feels more like a chore than a break and meditation doesn't get things done. At least not in an obvious, instantly observable way.

4.jpg

The themes for these 30min sketches are provided daily on Daily Spitpaint group on fb. I initially wanted to paint shadows coming out of a character, but I didn't like the sketch so I scrapped it. I remembered an eyes drawing from weeks ago and I wanted to draw anything similar since.

Ref: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/568579521708820726/

The first thing that comes to mind is the watchful eyes of criticism and judgement. For this drawing I just let loose, no thinking no planning as usual. I basically finished the sketch in less than 10min and it felt more satisfying than some other drawings I spent many hours on. The time limit for spitpaints is 30min, so I used leftover time to add some flashy animation.

1.7 Spiritual Chaos.jpg

Animation is 4 frames, and I use separate layers to animate more quickly and easily. I considered adding blinking animation, but I wanted the staring to feel more prominent. I tried to not making the flashing too strong, so I lowered the white opacity.

image.png

I added straight lines by accident, I was just scribbling. However, they reminded me of birch trees, so I kept them. Some birch trees even look like they have eyes on their white barks.

A forest of eyes.

For the past week I've been listening the song above on repeat and I really wanted to share it. It helps me get into work mood even if I'm not feeling motivated. It instantly gets me focused, it's incredible.

Edit: I've realized this post may sound like I'm talking about depression since I was very vague. It's mostly grieving and having other much smaller issues. If anyone is struggling with mental illness or suicidal thoughts, please, please, get good professional help. Love you all <3
Empathy is the best way to go forward as a society and community.

Do you share your hard moments online?

Thank you for reading <3

Sort:  

Thanks for your honesty. I've just been thinking about this over the last 24 hours or so. It's not natural to be positive all the time. We need to have time and patience and courage to face all the feelings, and to accept that the sad or difficult ones are also just a part of life. Thanks for sharing, and I love the painting. :) It's often the quick ones that turn out the best, isn't it?

 4 years ago  

Thank you for understanding <3
By sharing we can lower the stigma for those who are struggling even more. I remember the unrealistic expectations as a kid to be constantly active or fear being considered lazy. It's still there, but I agree realising that it's part of life has helped me worry less about it and it even passes faster.