The Curiosity Shop- Art Composition Explained

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

The Curiosity Shop.jpg

Hi guys! I'm mind blown by NFTs and feel so lucky :) I've sold way faster than I imagined and this drawing here has only one edition left :D The first edition sold instantly, just after I refreshed the website ^_^

You can check out higher quality here and the additional story:
https://knownorigin.io/edition/198525

Update: the last edition has been bought <3 :D

I'm having a lot of fun with this series and I'm looking forward to making many more. The Curiosity Shop is certainly my favorite so far, even one of my all time favorites that I've painted so far. <3

1.jpg

Getting started is probably the hardest part, as soon I splash a bit of paint on the canvas, I feel more comfortable and confident.

3.jpg

I adjusted the colors more to my liking, making a nice warm sunset like atmosphere.

5.jpg

I used a few apothecary references, but my main goal was to make it look like a shop. I try not to use any undo when painting, rather the mistakes work like an extra texture in the end.

As I finished the shape of the room I spend more time on the details. Details alone can take more time than all the steps before together.

7.jpg

This drawing definitely took more than my usual 30min, I'm guessing around 1h-2h, I totally lost track of time as I was enjoying this so much. The final touch is the light glow, it's a layer set on color dodge.

So I've noticed that in several of my posts I mentioned "good" composition, but I never explained what it means. I'll try to explain it how I understand it and I still have a lot more to learn myself :) I've started using a lot of composition elements more intuitively now, but it's important to first spend time practicing these slowly and deliberately.

composition.gif

First is the focus- be aware what you want to be seen, I try to make edges dark so the eye flows to the middle. You can see this best with values- use a black layer set to color adjustment. In the values you can also see if your painting has enough contrast (or too much), I avoid 100% black or whites. Extreme contrast should only be used in small areas if you want to draw focus to the spot.

Flow- I try not break the flow of lights or darks too suddenly, as that would break the flow. Of course you could do that on purpose if you want a tense or suspenseful composition. You can also achieve flow with patterns, here I used repeating windows.

Proportions- The biggest elements should be the rarest and the smaller shapes should be more common. I don't do this perfectly, but if something stands out I'll probably paint over it.

Last but not least is the rule of thirds, personally I don't use it enough except by accident. I try to keep important details a little off center and keep some distance between important details. Turns out in this painting I intuitively separated the painting into thirds-the tables vs the windows separator.

There are many other elements of composition and highly recommend doing some research. You don't need to use all of them, but using a few every time has improved my paintings greatly :)

Dragon Head winners: (my blog) @zacknorman97 and (pixelart community comment) @edithbdraw

Pixelart August Prompt List

Thank you for checking out my post and I hope my explanation helped ^^ Feel free to ask any additional questions (or requests).

Cheers!

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Have you drawn the little adventurer before? Are we ever going to get to see their face or are they a Journey style character? XD

It looks more like a curiousity museum than a curiousity shop but I guess it's because I can't see where the payment area is. It does look very much like a curiousity place though :)

 4 years ago  

Haha I'm still figuring it out myself, I kinda like the mystery ^^ You know, discovering where this goes right on the go :D

I really like your work, Kristy! Keep it coming!

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! ^_^

great dear friend. those who get them are lucky !!.

 4 years ago  

Aww thank you! :D

Wow, I didn't know that the digital art market was so busy! That's incredible!
Good for you... and congratulations on exhausting the stock! 🤗

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D I had no idea either!

Of course they will be sold, do not doubt it, because your digital paintings are great. Congratulations.

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! <3 :D

Huzzah, another dragon head bagged for the count! Cheers for the great explainer, too! I guess trying to organise the composition like this is sort of like Da Vinci's Golden Ratio, right?

Having admired automotive design, Aston Martin uses this ratio to shape the proportions on their cars, hence why they're so beautiful, just like this amazing artwork! Perhaps, I'd like to stop by and shop around for some curiosity :-D

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D I thought of the golden ratio after I already posted this. I'm not sure if I use it. Another artist had pointed it out for me in my old works years ago, but I never used it intentionally, so not sure if it counts ^^ I should do some research and see how to find it properly in art, I know it includes cutting up sections that creates a spiral.

I guess it works that way, by cutting cutting up your drawing into unique compositions. It does have the effect of making the proportions look more wholesome, though I don't know anything more beyond that :-p

image.png

 4 years ago  

Yeahh, but I feel if you wanted to you could forcefully find a golden ration in anything xD I might be wrong haha

Lol, that's true I suppose. You could just cut it up and use any single point for reference XD

This is really cool and congrats. I'm determined to get a body of work on blockchain, I've a few random bits and bobs I put up back in like 2018 I think on makersplace maybe? Well done @kristyglas

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D The nft-s are really on the rise now, you should look into it and hopefully give it another chance ^_^ Today I uploaded my first 2 painting on makersplace, but it's probably still processing ^^

Your post is very good, I will give myself time to learn from it!
Thank you for Dragon Head. Norum is beautiful.
I am trying to login to nftshowroom but it only asks for the name and when I put it there is no effect

 4 years ago  

Glad you liked it :)
You need Hive Keychain to log in, not sure if there will be other ways to log in, in the future.
You can check this post for more info about nft showroom
https://peakd.com/hive-158694/@stellabelle/ultimate-guide-to-nft-showroom

 4 years ago  

Just going through your post, I've learnt so much.