Not So Daily Sketch Practice

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

Image001404groupxsw.jpg

Well, I haven't kept up with a sketch a day, but I am still going ahead with the idea of continually sketching. The last couple of months have been a bit of a black hole for productivity, but I'm still doing something nonetheless. I guess I have allowed myself to be distracted with the latest updates around the you know what pandemonium.

Right now I am also making preparations for a workshop starting 2021. I have a painting that is almost finished sitting on the canvas, but I have get the workshop preparations out of the way first.

I'm trying to focus on essentials at the moment and throw out the unessential. It takes repeated effort to break old habits.

Regardless, I persist.

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

These are absolutely wonderful. I love pencil drawings. All that expressiveness in the lines its a good measure for technique and skills. Great work.

 3 years ago  

Thank you! There is a freedom in drawing, because you don't have to think about colour, it means your hand can stay in motion, not having to pause to switch colours.

Well, I get you change the notion of color by values. In a sense, that's a way of coloring, but without changing the material.

 3 years ago  

Yes, it simplifies the process.

Hi Leo! Very good study of expressions 😃🤗😊

 3 years ago  

Thank you Carol!

Doing hundreds of straight portraits would be boring, so I have some really extreme ones I'll be doing in the future. It's good practice for narrative painting. =)

You're right, I love also to exaggerate a bit.... 😝

Sketching most of the time even if you don't always make daily is still good XD

Persisting is all that can be done when it comes to old habits. Hopefully one day soon you'll find you have good new habits to replace them :D

 3 years ago  

I only have a few pages of faces so far, but it's already something to look at and certainly gives me the itch to continue.

The first step is realising one has habit/s that need to change. Unlike learning to ride a bicycle, you fall off far more frequently before you learn to stay on. =)