You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Nymph and the Satyr

in OnChainArt2 years ago

I also worked as a programmer for almost 20 years, so I understand the critical and logical thinking processes such orientated people use.

So yes, as you discovered with your music, thinking very often gets in the way. Thinking has it's place... if you need to calculate the stresses and loads on materials if you're building a bridge and you don't want it to collapse. Here your emotive or expressive side doesn't really have a function. (Hence the push to have the "Humanities" invade the stem studies in the universities is a disaster.)

Conversely, thinking after a point, does not have the lead role when creating a work of art (painting, music, ect.) that has to speak to and move people. Communicating and connecting to people in this manner is a visceral thing.

Both approaches come from different places, one from the head the other from the gut. Both have their place. Both are excellent tools when used correctly in their applicable scenario. Both make an awful mess of things when used inappropriately.

It's round pegs in square holes, or when the only tool you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.

Bottoms up! Enjoy your tipple and creative process. 😁

Sort:  

Exactly! As demonstrated by your work, you have managed to free yourself from the constant interference of your brain, so to speak. I'm happy for you, especially now that you told me about your former career. I have written a few lines of code in my time, for projects that are long defunct. I'm looking back at them asking myself, what do I have to show for all my work? It was good money, but basically a waste of time.

Producing a tangible piece of art which will be around as long as one collector has it hanging on a wall is so much more satisfying I imagine. From the looks of it (at your website) your hard work appears to have paid off. Good for you! BTW, I especially love the "Hands" studies. The lighting in Hands 04 (for example) is unbelievable.

O.K., I'm off to buy some wine and then I'll see whether that lubricates those square pegs when I hammer them in the round holes. :-)

 2 years ago  

I kind of feel the same way. While programming was good money, I was building someone else's business and in the long stretch of things, there's nothing to show for it, especially if the business changes, or no longer provides said product or service, or goes out of business.

It is enjoyable to know that out there, are people who are living with my artwork everyday as a part of their lives.

How did you go with the wine? 😀

Taking inspiration from your classical style, my new buddy Merlot and I just finished a female portrait in gouache. I like to think it turned out great, for a dabbler. It will be my next post.

I'm in my sixties and only started painting 3 years ago, after a lifetime w/o art because my art teacher way back when beat it in me that I was no good at it. So I never tried, until my wife started messing around with her art and the supplies were in the house anyway.

Since then, I'm practicing this and that, with miscellaneous media, trying to learn and find out what I actually like. Currently, I'm leaning towards gouache again, on account of the forced spontaneity. So we'll see how it works out. So far, I'm encouraged.

 2 years ago  

Age doesn't come into this.
Experimenting is a great teacher, but the greatest teacher is your own mistakes.
I advocate the three P's to advance with your artwork.
Practice, Practice, Practice
But put the practice in on the things you are NOT good at and constantly revise that.
You'll get there if you persist.

I'm a bit late, but I'll check out your profile for gouaches.