🎨 Mythology or fairy tales?

in OnChainArt4 years ago


image.png


Myth or fairy tale


2 0 2 0
watercolor on paper


777.png




What is a myth? Now this word has acquired the significance of some untruth, of some fictitious thing, that is, a fake. The original meaning is folk oral creativity, that is, a fairy tale. It seems to me that mythology and a fairy tale are related concepts. My post is about mixing of genres. Mythological hero of Russian myths (prince) falls into the literary reality of the early 20th century. My hero is looking for a dragon to fight with him. But instead of the dragon, he met a talking egg and a strange caterpillar. As we shall see later, they could not find a common language.


777.png
разворот.jpg
777.png

Today I wanted to create a book illustration. I remember when I studied at an art school, I constantly tried to illustrate something. My victims were the immortal works of Pushkin, Rafaello Giovagnoli, Fenimore Cooper and other pillars of classical literature. Often I also painted fairy tales. I remember with what envy I watched the work of my classmate. Not only that the girl herself was terribly beautiful, so she also painted gorgeously! Never forget me her composition based on the fairy tale "The Princess and the Swineherd."
In a warm puddle lies a pink pig with a plump patch, brightly red tiles of half-timbered houses, curtains on the windows ... and a beautiful princess in cute trousers kisses with a dirty fervent swineherd ... and all this is done with bright fresh juicy gouache colors.
And now I look sadly at my easel. I do not like everything: both dirty tortured colors, figures of heroes, and the composition itself ...

So, I decided to get rid of phantom pains of childhood and create something in the style of "that girl"

This time, instead of scraps from the printer, I used the adequate paper from the notepad for graphics, because I foresaw the difficulties with drawing figures, - for me this is a rather painful stage. However, this paper did not cope with the task assigned to it.

To begin with, I painted on the drafts the figure of the prince. As is known, in a fairy tale usually fight good and evil . My prince at first was kind, but long and unsuccessful searches angered him, and he moved on to the dark side of the power.


IMG_3227.JPG
777.png

The image of the prince appeared quite easily.

IMG_3226.JPG
777.png

Serious difficulties I have with a figure Humpty Dumpty. I made several variants of his mimicry. On the draft his sad image was found quite quickly. But in the final version, he did not succeed. This happens, and quite often.


IMG_3262.JPG
777.png

The next point of stumbling was the caterpillar. This person obstinately did not want to appear. In addition, I could not find her position on paper. Honestly, I was so unhappy with it.
The feet of the prince did not work at all. Usually, torture with fingers, and then suddenly legs ... Three times I washed the contours of the boots! The paper, unfortunately, got damaged ...

IMG_3263.JPG
777.png

Drawing out the outlines, I began to paint the caterpillar. At first there was an idea to make its outline moist. But the paint swam along the damaged surface of the paper. I was horrified, I wanted to quit doing nonsense and finally go to work ...

IMG_3264.JPG
777.png

But then I got carried away when I painted the prince.

IMG_3265.JPG
777.png

I colored his pants, armor, sleeves ...

IMG_3266.JPG
777.png

The most delicious, the face of Humpty Dumpty I left myself for dessert. And I'll tell you even caught some pleasure from his drawing.

IMG_3269.JPG
777.png

My whole family agreed that the caterpillar failed and something is missing in the composition. The younger son authoritatively stated that I need to add some blood. Yes, this is a new generation - they have seen too much of horror movies. I had to add some magical ambrosia



image.png
777.png


That's all. Thank you for attention!

















Stand by






Sincerely yours

image.png









#qurator #posh #ocd #oca #posh #palnet

Sort:  

great illustration! I love mixing genres, as well! After all, in all myths we meet things from the past, from the present and from the future we hope.Also, we meet the need for continuity and this happens only with mixing :)

Congratulations @mister-omortson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 4 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment