My little Watermelon Robin - Concept art

in OnChainArt โ€ข 2 years ago

0.jpg

Hi everyone! ๐Ÿ˜Š

I'm glad to show you today my new creation.

This is a character design that I realized for the Character Design Challenge, on the internet. The purpose is to give a theme each month, with which you have to produce a character design.

The theme of November was "Veggie Animal".
It involves to create an animal combined with a fruit or a vegetable.

After consideration, I found the idea of doing a Robin combined with a watermelon.
With the theme, I thought it would be interesting if I exploit the seed side of the vegetable ; and that create a metaphor of the baby animal with it.
So, I put baby watermelons instead of eggs. Isn't it cute ? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Process

1.jpg

First, I do some color researches. I was looking for the watermelon color, but more saturated and bright. I also make some framing tests.

2.jpg

I have encountered some difficulties during the process. The bird doesn't satisfied me at all, I had to take my time to have a good result. I played with the complementary colors of the red and green, also by putting red shadow on the green part (at the rear)
The difficulty was to combine the characteristics of the watermelon, find out where to delimit the slice,...

3.jpg

The nest was much easier to draw. I took a precise brush and did a lot of strokes, using different colors.

4.jpg

FInally, I add the baby watermelon and some plantings.

0.jpg

Banniรจre3.png

Hope you will like it! ๐Ÿ˜„

Don't hesitate to let a comment and to give me your opinion. ๐Ÿ˜Š

See you soon for others creations!

Sort: ย 

I love this - so cute!!!!

Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

That's sweet. Sweet bird wouldn't be wrong now, would it ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜Š

Ahaha yes ๐Ÿ˜†
Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ˜Š

I love this so much!
The Watermelon Robin is wonderful.

Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜Š

I absolutely love this!

Thanks, glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜„

Uniquely adorable. ๐Ÿ˜

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜Š