El Halcón y el Dragón (The Hawk and the Dragon)

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hi everyone!

Today I'm posting an illustration I made for a book cover just a couple months ago.
This is the second book cover I did for J.E.F.S., who this time is joined by J.A.Fermín in the authorship.


halconydragon66.jpg




Two authors - Two characters. Each author writes only the parts of "their" character, until their paths finally meet. In the cover, the Hawk pounces on the Dragon; the Dragon awaits calmly, knowing of his own power.

Aside of my working on it, I thought the whole idea was very interesting and the parts I had access to read were quite engaging.

This is what it looks like with the titles:

halconydragontextos.jpg




As far as I know the book is only in Spanish at the moment, but if you like you can find it here:
https://www.wattpad.com/story/227616609-el-halc%C3%B3n-y-el-drag%C3%B3n

As usual I made a process GIF to show my steps.
I posed and rendered both models on Daz Studio and then worked over that on Photoshop. The Hawk had to be a bit Assassin's Creed-like but without it being too obvious. =P
For the Dragon I didn't have any white clothing in Daz so a lot of work went into changing a dark brown coat into a white one...

To be honest I'm most proud of the cave here more than anything else. In a way it's the most original part of the whole artwork (as in created fully from scratch) and I'm weirdly happy of how it turned out. The water drops are a bit exaggerated but I was trying to make them obvious when the cover is seen in the small sizes Amazon or others show them in.

Either way, here's the thing...


halconydragonanimation.gif




Only a couple resources for this one:

https://www.deviantart.com/einheit00/art/Stock-75-530404832
https://www.photobash.org/sandstone-city




If you enjoy my art, you can also find in other sites:

Instagram
YouTube
ArtStation
DeviantArt
Behance
Facebook
Twitter
Makersplace
Prints and more

Sort:  

Congratulations @rowye! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 4 years ago  

This is really spectacular, especially the cave. You aerial perspective is on point.

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much! Of course I used a grid for that. :D

damn this is really good! Whats the final step of your painting? Did you add a noise layer for atmosphere?

 4 years ago  

Thank you! :D
I often add a little noise but not a lot, as it also helps blending everything together a bit. Most of the last step is from the Nik plug-ins. I use Color Efex and Analog Efex for almost all artworks.

Absolutely superb! I always love your artwork, so keep up the great work. The concept for this book is intriguing as well, by having two writers separately write only their own characters and arcs. I wonder how difficult it would be to sync up the story together. Very neat :-D

Posted using Dapplr

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much!
Yeah the book idea is great, I guess it's a similar concept as A Song of Ice and Fire where every chapter is from a character's perspective, but it's even more complicated. :D

Ah, interesting. It's surely something I've yet to experience, but no doubt I'm ever more keen to read it now! Cheers, and keep at it with the lovely illustrations :-D

 4 years ago  

:D I will do my best. :P

Me gusta mucho la perspectiva y la composición. Espero pronto llegar a ese nivel de pintura y detalles. Todo se ve tan bien!

 4 years ago  

Muchas gracias! :D
Yo tampoco es que sé pintar mucho pero mezclando técnicas algo me sale jaja. Hay texturas y algunas fotos también por allí.